STANSW Young Scientist Awards 2019

Scientific Investigation Category Award Winners

The 2019 winners of the Scientific and Mathematical Investigations category of the Young Scientist Awards competition were announced at the Presentation Ceremony at the University of Wollongong on Friday 1st November, 2019

Working Technologically winners were also felicitated during the ceremony which also included the announcement of all Sponsored Awards and Grand Awards.

The keynote speaker at the ceremony was the renowned astrophysicist Prof. Lisa Harvey-Smith. There were a record number of 930 entries this year including many Extension Science projects.

Congratulations to all entrants and winners! Your perseverance, hard work, innovation and ingenuity is truly inspiring.

OshClub Innovations and Inventions K-2 Winners

Equal 1st

Hayley Prodinger, St. John Bosco Primary School

Avery the Reminder Cat

Luca Pica, Harrison Luu and Austen An, Knox Grammar Preparatory School


Oscar Fairhurst, Bowen Gozdzialski and Christian Strumendo, Knox Grammar Preparatory School

R.C.B.O.C. (River Cleaner, Bowen, Oscar, Christian)

Highly Commended

Evie Patrick, PLC Sydney

Rats Caught Red Handed

OshClub Innovations and Inventions 3-4 Winners

Equal 1st

Neomi Verma, Abbotsleigh

D.D.D. Daily Diabetes Diary - an app for kids

Oliver Schlosser and Jackson Macdonald, Knox Grammar Preparatory School


Mitchell Whiley and Kingston Rahme, Knox Grammar Preparatory School


Highly Commended

Brendan Lee, Knox Grammar Preparatory School


Abbie Gregory, PLC Sydney

Crutches Carrier

OshClub Innovations and Inventions 5-6 Winners

Equal 1st

James Bestic, Castle Cove Public School

S.A.S. Safe Air Schools

Zara Portolesi and Jasmine Civardi, St. Ambrose Catholic Primary School

Wheelchair Caddy

Mims Clarke, PLC Sydney

Hairy Potter

Highly Commended

Isabella Vu, St. Felix Catholic Primary School

Clear 2 Go

Matthew Alt, Castle Cove Public School

Car Seat Crash Detector

Harriet O'Connor, Niamh Foley, Eve Quinlan, St. Ambrose Catholic Primary School

Clogger Cleaner

iTE Inventions and Engineering Design 7-8 Winners

1st Place

Harshan Someshwar, James Ruse Agricultural High School

Generating Electricity from pressurised water supplied for domestic use

2nd Place

Amy de Friskbom, Sapphire Coast Anglican College


3rd Place

Jed Kay, Moriah War Memorial College

All terrain: unmanned transport

9-10 Winners

1st Place

Trisha Chari, Meriden School

Flood detector and alert system for minor flooding

2nd Place

Gokulraj Kuppusamy and Ethan Tjhin, Redeemer Baptist School

Methane on Wheels

3rd Place

Kiara Sun, James Ruse Agricultural High School

The Electromagnetic Space Debris Collector (EDSC)

Highly Commended

Shirley Wang, Meriden School

Photocatalytic Solar Disinfection and Thermoelectric composite

Edward Garth, Redeemer Baptist School

QLVASTA - Quickest, Least Variation and Safest Trip Algorithm

Arif Altundal, Amity College

Shoes of the Future

11-12 Winners

1st Place

Molly Dixon, Wenona School

Vinnie - Solar-powered talking clothing donation bank

2nd Place

Callum Taylor, The King's School


3rd Place

Nathan Chan, Barker College

Float Buddy

Highly Commended

Emma Leggett-Budden, Barker College


Fergus Hudson, Barker College

Flood Watch

Will Spargo, Barker College

Bench Safe

Rohan Fahey, Barker College

The AuttoBin