CMS Activities & Athletics

August 2018 Newsletter

CMS Athletic Mission Statement


Craig Middle School aspires to be an outstanding educational-athletic organization that provides a high-quality experience to every athlete. A high-quality experience is one in which every athlete:

  • Is coached using the principles of Positive Coaching

  • Has fun at practices and games

  • Feels like an important part of the team regardless of performance

  • Learns “life lessons” that have value beyond the playing field

  • Learns the skills, tactics and strategies of the game and improves as a player

We recognize that coaches are the people who most directly make this all possible. It is our goal to provide every coach with the tools to succeed as a Positive Coach. We are committed to creating a positive culture in which coaches parents, fans, officials and athletes work together to achieve our mission.

Online Registration

This years athletic registration will be part of the online registration process. You should be receiving and link via email Monday, August 6th to complete this. Please make sure you have your child's physical date, insurance information and an idea of what sports they will be interested in for the year. If you are a homeschooled student you will need to come into CMS to fill out the paperwork.

18-19 ATHLETIC SCHEDULES (tentative)

All Athletic Schedules below, once open click on the tabs on the bottom to view different sports

Cross Country

Practice Times

3:50-4:45pm Monday-Friday


Upcoming Events

Fri. Sept 21 Saratoga Invite 1pm @ Saratoga Golf Course (Saratoga Invite Details)

Tue. Sept 25 Soroco Invite • 4:30 Middle School Boys • 5:00 Middle School Girls

Sat Sept 29 Bulldog Invite @ Loudy Simpson 9am

  • Leaf Crucher Community 5k @ 8:00am, 1 Mile Fun Run 8:45am


CANCELLED

Friday, October 5th in East Grand



XC Coaches

Chad Backsen chad.backsen@moffatsd.org

Elizabeth Tucker elizabeth.tucker@moffatsd.org

Football

Practice Times

3:50pm-5:45pm Monday-Friday


Upcoming Events

Tue., Sept 18 Craig Hosts Steamboat 7th-4pm, 8th-5:15pm @ Moffat County High School

  • 7th Grade boys will be transported at 3pm, 8th grade boys will need their own transportation

Friday, Sept 21st PRACTICE IS FROM 3-5PM

Sat Sept 22 Rifle Host Craig @ Rifle Middle School 9:00 AM & 10:15 AM

  • leave at 7th-6:00 AM & 8th-7:00 AM

Tue Sept 25 Craig Hosts Saratoga (7th game only) @CMS 4:15 PM


CMS Football Coaches

8th-Tony Maneotis tony.maneotis@moffatsd.org

8th- Dusty Vaughn dusty.vaught@moffatsd.org

7th-Brice Smith brice.smith@moffatsd.org

7th- Mark Clemmons mark.clemmons@moffatsd.org

Volleyball

Practice Times

Monday-Friday 3:50-5:30pm


Upcoming Events

Tue, Sept 18th CONCESSIONS @ MCHS 4PM NO PRACTICE

Fri, Sept 21st NO PRACTICE No School

Sat, Sept 22nd Rifle Tournament @ 9am Rifle Middle School (more details to come)

  • leave CMS @ CMS

Sat Sept 29 Rock Springs host Craig, Vernal, Rawlins @ Rock Springs Middle School 8th A&B, 7th A&B 10:00 AM

  • leave CMS @ 5:30 AM

Tue Oct 2 Baggs hosts Craig @ Baggs School 4:30 PM


CMS Volleyball Coaches

8th-Bre Ford breanna.ford@moffatsd.org

8th-Kelsey Murchison kelsey.murchison@moffatsd.org

7th-Shaylyn White shay.white@moffatsd.org

7th-Callison Miller callison.miller@moffatsd.org

Cheerleading

Practice Times (see picture to right)


Tue., Sept 18 Craig Hosts Steamboat 7th 4pm, 8th-5:15pm @ Moffat County High School

  • Will need their own transportation to the High School


CMS Cheer Coaches

Jordan Anderson jordan.anderson@moffatsd.org

Kayla Hall kayla.hall@moffatsd.org

Athletic Physical Information

CMS Activites

Big picture
Big picture

Requirements to Participate in Athletics

All CMS Athletes must have the following information (all found on our website) completed and turned in to the main office before participation:

  • Online Waiver will be sent out in August (Will need Insurance Information)

  • Current Yearly Sports Physical: Form linked

  • Sports Fee (UPDATED FOR 18/19 SCHOOL YEAR)

    • All 6th, 7th and 8th grade CMS students are subject to a fee for EACH sport in which they participate according to the Moffat County School District Board Policy 5570. A $50.00 Athletic Fee is expected to be paid before any equipment/uniform will be checked out. Students who qualify for Free and Reduced priced lunches must pay a $20.00 Activity Fee to participate. Students who voluntarily drop from an activity within ten (10) days after enrolling OR an athlete who becomes injured or ill will have the fee refunded on a pro-rated basis. Students who are dropped from a sport for sport violations will not receive a refund.

    • CMS has a max family participation fee of $200 per family or $80 for free and reduced.

    • Students who don't attend MCSD or are not enrolled in the MCSD shared school program will be charged an $25 per sport.

  • Athletes that do not have fees paid will not be able to participate in athletic competitions. This includes fees that will be charged to the account if uniforms are not returned.

CMS Athletic Handbook