Chapter 8 Review

Review Time!

Big image

Section 8.1

The Aryans have a very different way of life. They then will move across the Hindu Kush and then they spread through South Asia. They Aryans had their own written language in their way of life; also they had four main social classes. In India, they have two major epics- Mahabharata and Ramayana. Eventually, they would move to Hinduism.In Hinduism, they started to believe in the universal spirit. They also stated to begin in creators and preservers and destroyers. They had many different leaders and Upanishads. They also began to believe in reincarnation. In Jainism, they emphasized ahimsa.


Siddhartha Gautama is the founder of Buddhism. At 29 he left India on his search to find nirvana. When he was in the search be became a hermit for 7 years. He found the four noble truths and came up with the Eightfold path which will lead him to nirvana. Buddhism then spread and now has two divisions: Theravada and Mahayana.


Chandragupta Maurya overthrew a King. HE created a postal service. They had a very fierce army. Asoka’s Enlightened Rule was very good. They had many new public serves that helped everybody. Chandragupta I then had the Gutta empire. Thier religion learned based Uplands.


Sanskrit- Language

Vedas- Holy Rituals



Mahabharata- Epic Poem

Ramayana- Epic Poem

Upanishads- Religious Writings

Brahman Nerguna- Universal Spirit

Reincarnation- Rebirth

Ahimsa- Non-violence in all living things

Moksha- Release from the pain of rebirth

Brahmans- Priest

Kshatriyas- Warriors or Rulers

Vaisyas- Common People

Sudras- Unskilled Laborers

Pariahs- Slaves- untouchables

Siddhartha Gautama- Founder of Buddism

Nirvana- Freedom from rebirth

Theravada- S/SE Asia, regards Buddha as a teacher

Mahayana: China, Korea, Japan; Buddha as a divine being and savior