If you liked The Giver...

then you should try these books!

...the rest of the books in The Giver quartet...

Gathering Blue

  • Not really a sequel to The Giver. More like a companion novel.
  • Two worlds are similar in some ways, but the world of Gathering Blue is brutal.
  • Kira is orphaned and physically flawed. Not good in this world. Her only friend is Matty, a little boy also on the fringes of this world.
  • Sent to The Council of Guardians, she is prepared to fight for her life. But her magical gift saves her.
  • As she practices her gift and works for The Council, she begins to realize the truth about her world and wonders how she might change it (or herself) for the better.

Messenger

  • Not really a sequel to The Giver or Gathering Blue, but begins to tie the two stories together.
  • Another "other world," this time called the Village. But this society is entirely different than the other two. This one welcomes outsiders with open arms.
  • Something is happening in Village that is making the citizens change. They are closing their doors.
  • Matty, a member of Village, is one of the first to notice these changes, and he decides he needs to go on a quest to find a missing Villager before it's too late.
  • An attacking forest, a Leader that risks his life, a somewhat surprising ending make the end of this book pretty suspenseful.

Son

  • I really enjoyed this book because it bring everything from the other three books together, but not everyone loves it.
  • This book is divided into three sections: Before, Between, and Beyond.
  • The story centers around a new character, Claire.
  • Here's Lois Lowry talking about the last book of the quartet:
Lois Lowry Author Video for SON (10.2.12).

...other dystopian titles...

Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix

  • Luke has never been to school, played outside, had a friend over for the night. He is a third child, which is banned by the government.
  • When he gets a glimpse of someone in the house across from him when no one should be there, he begins to wonder if there is a way to freedom after all.
  • Similar to The Giver because: both books have main characters who are learning the truth about the societies in which they live.

The City of Ember by Jeanne DuPrau

  • The city of Ember was created long ago to protect its citizens. But now the supplies are running out, the light is failing, and the citizens are in trouble.
  • When Lina and Doon find fragments of an ancient parchment, they begin to explore whether there might be a way out of Ember. Will they be able to find the solution to their community's problems, and more importantly, will the citizens of Ember believe them?
  • Similar to The Giver because: Both books have characters who serve as "Messengers," and when they realize the truth about their societies, have to make life-changing decisions.

Truesight by David Stahler

  • Jacob lives in a society where everyone is blind, but that is a good thing. Blindness brings unity, purity, and freedom, and everyone is happy.
  • As Jacob nears his 13th birthday, thinking about changes that will happen when he is an adult, a far greater change threatens everything Jacob knows.
  • Similar to The Giver because: the societies in both books are carefully controlled and the main characters face challenges when they realize the truth.

Legend by Marie Lu

  • In what was the western United States, the Republic is now at constant war with its neighbors. June is a highly regarded citizen of the Republic, training to be in the elite military. Day is the country's most wanted criminal.
  • June and Day's paths have not crossed until June's brother is murdered and Day is a prime suspect. June sets out to avenge for her brother's death, while Day is running for his life, and in the process they learn about themselves and their country.
  • Similar to The Giver because: they are both books centered around dystopian societies and the truth about those societies.

The List by Patricia Forde

  • The city of Ark is the last safe place on Earth. To be sure humans survive, they are required to speak "List," a language of only 500 words. Everyone except for the Wordsmith, and Letta, the Wordsmith's apprentice.
  • When the Wordsmith disappears, Letta is told she is the Wordsmith now, and must decrease the words in the language of "List." When Letta meets a boy who somehow knows all words, though, she must decide what she's going to do.
  • book trailer
  • Similar to The Giver because: Both books have alternate societies where an aspect of society is very controlled except for the few who hold the past.

Others to try...

  • Dark Life by Kat Falls
  • Uglies by Scott Westerfeld (and series)
  • Illusive by Emily Lloyd Jones

Happy reading!