Walden Review

A weekly newsletter for Walden Families

Big picture

May 29, 2020 - Final Walden Review

#WALDENORIGINALS

Jaguar Families



Walden Jaguars,


Thank you for being Walden Originals. There is a special connection with every person that has had a part in building Walden. Not just the physical building, but the climate and culture of kindness and family. Thank you to the community and parents for all the patience during the construction. Thank you for all your support during the school year and during distance learning. Take time this summer to re-charge. We hope to see you in the fall.


Sincerely

Keelie Stucker

Walden Principal

Grades

Teachers finalized grades today. I would like to encourage you and your student to review grades in Infinite Campus. As noted in the district’s Distance Learning communication, we know this is a challenging time. In order to provide grace for families, we have a grade appeal process. Should you desire to appeal your student’s posted final grade for 4th quarter, I am attaching the grade appeal form linked below. Please note an important factor in the appeal process is a determination based on if a student did their best to engage in learning this quarter. Submission of the appeal form and documentation must occur by June 5, 2020. Final report cards will be mailed on June 10 with math placement letters for the 20-21 Walden students.

Walden end of the year message to our students. Thank you Mrs. Tiffany Peeler for your work at putting together this wonderful video!

Episode #11 Jaguar Spirit Event-Walden Goodbyes Are Not Forever!
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Family Assistance and Free Meals


Information on free meals (link)

Community Resources for Parents (link)

Park Hill Family Resources.


Please reach to Katherine Kraai, our Walden social worker with any questions or assistance.


Katherine Kraai, MSW

Walden Social Worker

816-359-6811

kraaik@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Big picture

Work on the basics of Volleyball and learn the drills used in the Walden Volleyball program:

Extra Important Information:

  • Walk-up registration is available.

  • A t-shirt is not guaranteed for walk-up registration campers.

  • Camp information is subject to change due to the evolving situation.

Big picture

If we are at a point where we can all gather again, Vocal Nation Honor Choir will hold auditions in September. We miss you so much and we are looking forward to seeing each other face to face, syncing heartbeats, and creating amazing harmony! We welcome EVERYONE to audition…

Vocal Nation Promo

The Spring of 2021, Walden Middle School will hold auditions, rehearse and present it’s very first All-School Musical, “INTO THE WOODS Jr”! Information will be available January, 2021.

Big picture

Summer Activities

Park Hill South and Walden Families:

We have been working diligently to develop plans for returning to conditioning, practices, and camps this summer. As of today, our plan is to begin summer strength and conditioning on June 15. Some important information to keep in mind:


Student-athletes will have to sign up for the conditioning sessions they will attend. This helps us keep a record of who is coming on each day, and also helps us manage the numbers to ensure physical distancing expectations can be met. Use the this hyperlink to signup - 2020 Summer Weights Sign Up-Covid

  • Student-athletes must have a signed permission slip in order to participate in summer activities. A permission slip is attached to this communication. Student-athletes may bring this on their first day of conditioning, or you may email the signed permission slip to carrj@parkhill.k12.mo.us. The form can be downloaded below.
  • For the period of June 15-June 30, we will have conditioning sessions outside on our fields. We will not use any sport-specific equipment or weights during this time. Our goal is to work our student-athletes back into shape, and avoid injuries while doing so.
  • Please see the attached document that outlines safety protocols we are following during this time.


The basketball, football, and wrestling camps previously scheduled for the month of June have been pushed to July, assuming we are allowed to have them per Platte County Health Department guidelines. Preliminary camp dates are also attached to this communication.

We will share this information in our school newsletter, and we will also post it on our school website. If you have any questions, please contact your specific coach about sports, activities, or strength and conditioning. As is common during a pandemic, all of these plans are subject to change given protocols we are following from the Platte County Health Department. We appreciate your patience as we navigate through this unprecedented time. The safety of our Panthers is a priority for all of us.


Park Hill South Head Coaches & Sponsors

Boston Higgins -Summer Strength & Conditioning- HigginsB@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Josh Dorr – Girls Basketball - DorrJ@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Dan Parra -Boys Basketball - ParraD@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Chris Farmer – Boys Soccer - FarmerC@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Jared Byrne – Girls Soccer - ByrneJ@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Samantha Williams -Volleyball - WilliamsS@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Dan Dunkin -Boys & Girls Wrestling - DunkinD@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Alan Wilmes -Football - WilmesA@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Josh Walker – Softball - walkerj@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Pam Jurgensmeyer -Girls Cross Country - JurgensmeyerP@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Allen Roth -Boys Cross Country /Boys Track - RothA@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Christopher Leibrand -Girls Track - LeibrandC@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Tracy Mangels – Girls & Boys Golf - Mangelst@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Ian Cunliff -Girls & Boys Tennis - CunliffI@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Tim Busenhart – Boys & Girls Swim/Dive - BusenhartT@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Andrew Gillespie -Marching Band - GillespieA@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Uribe, Catilin -Dance - UribeCa@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Andrea Henderson - Asst. Cheer - HendersonA@parkhill.k12.mo.us


Walden Middle School Coaches

Royal Jolliff – Girl’s Cross Country – JolliffR@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Logan Meier – Boy’s Cross Country – Loganm@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Brandon Dean – Football – DeanB@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Allison Wong – Volleyball – WongA@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Horace Tisdel – Boys’ Basketball – TisdelH@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Jerry Peterson – Girls’ Basketball – PetersonJ@parkhill.k12.mo.us

Horace Tisdel – Track – TisdelH@parkhill.k12.mo.us


Sincerely,

John Carr

Park Hill South

Athletic Director

816-359-4120

carrj@parkhill.k12.mo.us

To the Parents of future Park Hill South Panthers:


I would like to share with you an opportunity for your son or daughter. We are very proud at Park Hill South High School to have a quality Strength and Conditioning program. The growth of this program has been tremendous recently and our high school students are continuing to receive tremendous life-long benefits and growth from this program.


​We currently have over half the high school involved in health and fitness with over 400 plus students taking Strength & Conditioning classes and another 100+ involved in the after school Strength & Conditioning programs. As part of the growth of our high school program, we offer a camp for middle school aged students to learn some of these aspects as well as develop an interest in this program.


The Park Hill South Strength and Conditioning Middle School Camp will run Monday, Tuesday and Thursday sessions from June 15th through July 30th. We will offer up to 70 athletes in each session the opportunity to improve their strength and conditioning skills. Students will be training at Park Hill South and will need to be dropped off at 10:45am and picked up at 11:45am. **(Times subject to change after June 26th possibly to 10am-11:30am). The permission form is below.


This is a great opportunity for your athlete to get involved early and a head start as a high school athlete. PHS Varsity coaches and athletes will be involved in training and establishing relationships with the middle school athletes that will be beneficial for PHS and the athletes themselves.

Boston Higgins & Alan Wilmes
​Park Hill South Strength and Conditioning Coordinators

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Drama club is looking for actors, actresses, and stage crew to help make our fall play AMAZING! If you are interesting in participating, please check out our practice/performance calendar at this link: https://tinyurl.com/waldenfallplay

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture