WPMS 8th Grade

Woodland Park Middle School ~ February 12

Upcoming Project Due Dates

Westward Expansion: Due February 26

Epic Fantasy Narrative Essay: Due February 27

Playing with Forces (Game): Due March 1


We hope you are able to use time over break to complete any missing Checkpoints for Projects!

Woodland Park High School Building Visit

During the week of February 22nd-26th, mentor classes will have the opportunity to visit Woodland Park High School.


Tuesday, February 23rd - Cohort 1 - Panthers - Appleget, Havens, Kettler Mentor Classes

Wednesday, February 24th - Cohort 2 - Remote and Online Students

Thursday, February 25th - Cohort 3 - Pride - Chism, Leafers, Rucker Mentor Classes


Students will walk over to the high school after lunch at noon. Students will spend time in the auditorium for an introduction to high school. Students will be hosted by Student Council students and given a detailed tour of the building including classroom visits. While in the classrooms, teachers will talk about their department's course offerings and programs.


At 1:45pm walking students will be released from the HS, bus riders will be walked down to the bus loop to await the bus arrivals, students being picked up will be walked out to the pather to wait for their ride. Parents should be outside the Panther from 1:45-2pm for pick-up.

Save the Dates

WPHS Registration: WPHS Counselors will be meeting with 8th grade students the week of March 1-5 to help discuss 4 year planning, review the course handbook, and begin preparing students for the registration process. More information will be coming soon from WPHS!


WPSD Registration opens on March 8th! Families will be able to register for the upcoming 2021-2022 school year.

Westward Expansion Literature Circles

For the last few days we have been doing literature circles in English and teaching each other about the impacts of westward expansion on different groups of people in History.

Here are some pictures of the kids doing good work!

8th Grade Math: Linear Equations & Linear Systems

In math, students are building on their knowledge of linear relationships by gaining an understanding of how to strategically use the properties of equality to solve equations.


Cooldowns are designed to be math practice and homework. Parent tip: have your child show his/her progress on completing cooldowns in this unit.

Enrichment Classes

Students will rotate every 20 days to a new Enrichment Class.On January 18th, students started their fourth enrichment rotation.


Physical Education A: Nicole Vergenz nvergenz@wpsdk12.org

Physical Education B: Caleb Kettler ckettler@wpsdk12.org

Family and Consumer Science: Stephanie Rucker srucker@wpsdk12.org

Art: Josh Davidson jdavidson@wpsdk12.org

Computers/Keyboarding: Elizabeth Barry ebarry@wpsdk12.org

STEM/Engineering: Justin Benjamin jbenjamin@wpsdk12.org

Music: Danielle Park dpark@wpsdk12.org

Band: Kayla Garcia kgarcia@wpsdk12.org

Big picture

Team Panther

Ms. Havens: English & U.S. History khavens@wpsdk12.org


Mrs. Appleget: Math & Science mappleget@wpsdk12.org


Mr. Kettler: Physical Education ckettler@wpsdk12.org


Mrs. Davis: Special Education ldavis@wpsdk12.org

Team Strong

Mrs. Leafers: English & U.S. History mleafers@wpsdk12.org


Mrs. Chism: Math & Science bchism@wpsdk12.org


Mrs. Rucker: Family & Consumer Science srucker@wpsdk12.org

WPSD Re-2

Woodland Park School District Re-2 does not unlawfully discriminate against otherwise qualified students, employees, applicants for employment, or members of the public on the basis of disability, race, creed, color, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, national origin, ancestry, or need for special education services. Discrimination against employees and applicants for employment based on age, genetic information, and conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth; is also prohibited in accordance with state and/or federal law.