Hinduism Dietary Customs

Jake Freudberg - A1 A3


Hinduism is an individual religion in which people practice it in their own way, so not all Hindus observe the same dietary laws. However, Hindus believe all living things are sacred, so many are vegetarians, and almost all avoid beef. Additionally, many Hindus also avoid fish, poultry, eggs, alcohol, caffeine, and very spicy or sour foods. There are not really any laws regarding food preparation, except for the fact the food should be respected. Also, fasting and feasting are both common throughout the year for devout Hindus. Most Hindus eat with their hands because they claim it frees the mind and spirit.

Sample Menu


2 Types of Vegetarian Curries including chickpeas, spinach, cauliflower, paneer, etc.


Some type of flatbread



"Hinduism." Faith in Food. N.p., n.d. Web. 05 Dec. 2014.

"What Do Hindus Eat?" HubPages. HubPages, 3 Oct. 2014. Web. 08 Dec. 2014.

[Picture sources listed under images]