HJHS Weekend Update

February 7, 2016

Big image
Big image

Happy Super Bowl Sunday!

As I was planning for our Super Bowl fun tonight and thinking about what we need to do at HJHS in the coming weeks, I received the following message from our Christie Finley, Director of Secondary Instruction:

"Whether you are a Broncos or Panthers fan, the game of football is always exciting! Both teams have had great seasons, and it is a reflection of team work and leadership. Although different areas of work, this can be related to the success of schools and student achievement. Your leadership in the classroom is invaluable . Stick with it, be relentless, focus on the student achievement end zone, kick the extra point for ALL students, embrace first downs, reflect on the fourth downs and readjust your plays through planning with your team! "Team Students" are the winners - when your students win the game .... do a little dabbing. :-) "


Go Big Red! Proud to work with such a great team of educators!


Have a great week of learning!


Stephanie

Upcoming Events and Notes for this week at HJHS!

LESSON PLANS SHOULD BE POSTED IN EDMODO BY 8:00 MONDAY MORNINGS!


Monday, February 8: Progress Reports Go Home with students during 7th period.


Tuesday, February 9: State Solo and Ensemble Festival (8 - 10:15 - See list provided in an email on 2-3-2016 from Sheri/Karen)


Wednesday, February 10: PST Meetings (focus on letters to parents and how academic & behavior contracts are working)


Thursday, February 11: Zumba? After school with Rico?


Friday, February 12: As long we we have no snow Monday/Tuesday - NO SCHOOL FOR YOU!!


PTA Open House

Thursday, February 25


Half-Day PD April 8

12:30 - 4:30

Big image

PTA Open House - Thursday, February 25 from 6 - 8

Again I do not anticipate this lasting too long. I will provide a brief presentation about where we are in our inaugural year as HJHS! If you have accomplishments from students you would like me to share - please send me a note! Parents will be given about 30 minutes to visit classrooms for a meet-and-greet opportunity. I recommend you have a conference sign-up sheet available for parents who want to talk at length. It would be as simple as selecting 5 - 10 dates/times to be available just in case a parent wants more time with you. Thank you for be available for our families!

DEADLINES AND DATES TO REMEMBER!

UPCOMING DATES TO REMEMBER

  • Monday, February 8: 3rd Nine Weeks Progress Reports Go Home

  • Monday, February 8: Tuesday, February 9: Choir State Solo & Ensemble Festival

  • Wednesday, February 10: PST meetings after school

  • Friday, February 12: SNOW DAY

  • Monday, February 15: SNOW DAY

  • Wednesday, February 17: Equity Training

  • Friday, February 19: Student Council Dance

  • Tuesday, February 23: National Junior Honor Society Induction

  • Wednesday, February 24: PLC Meetings

  • Thursday, February 25: Spring PTA Open House
  • Friday, February 26: Black History Assembly
  • February 29 - March 4: SchoolNet Benchmark Assessments

  • Thursday, March 3 - Friday, March 4: State Choral Festival

  • Wednesday, March 2: Faculty Meeting

  • Friday, March 4: End of the 3rd Nine Weeks
  • Wednesday, March 9: PST meetings after school

  • Monday, March 14: 3rd Nine Weeks Report Cards Go Home.
  • Wednesday, March 16: Faculty Meeting/ARI
  • Wednesday, March 30: PLC Meetings
  • Monday, April 4 - Tuesday, April 5: State Choral Performance Assessment

  • Wednesday, April 6: PST Meetings

  • Wednesday, April 13: Faculty Meeting

  • Thursday, April 14 - Sunday, April 17: Advanced Choir Trip to New York

  • Monday, April 18: 4th Nine Weeks Progress Reports Go Home
  • April 18 - 27: STAR Spring Benchmark

  • Wednesday, April 20: PST meetings after school

  • Wednesday, April 27: Faculty Meeting/Test Security

  • April 28 - May 13: ACT End of Course Tests (Algebra I and Geometry)

  • May 2 - 13: ACT Aspire

  • Wednesday, May 4: Faculty Meeting

  • Wednesday, May 11: PST meetings after school - End of the Year

  • Thursday, May 19: Spring Choir Concert at HHS