Actions & Agendas

A summary of recent School Board action

Board meeting summary, January 14, 2020

View the meeting live via online webstreaming or watch archived meetings here. Meetings take place at the District Center.

School Board welcomes new members and elects officers

Recently elected school board members Jim DeMay, Heidi Danielson, Jonathan Weinhagen and Sandra Westerman were sworn in at the January 14 Board meeting. The Board also elected the following officers:

Chair - Jonathan Weinhagen

Vice Chair - Diane Glasheen

Clerk - Sandra Westerman

Treasurer - Shauna Bock

Budget assumptions

Carole Nielsen, executive director of administrative services, and Bridget Peterson, director of finance, presented a draft of budget assumptions for fiscal year 2020-2021. Final budget assumptions will be presented for approval on January 28 and will then be used in determining the final budget that will be adopted in June 2020.

Non-affiliated compensation

The board approved a 2% salary increase with no changes in benefits for non-affiliated employees for the 2019-2020 fiscal year.


The Board discussed issues and updates related to Northeast Metro 916 and AMSD.

Thank you

The Board accepted, with appreciation, gifts from Your Cause, David Schreifels, Peter & Jill Sajevic, Ralph & Carole DeLong, Mandy Goebel, Amanda Nusz, Steven & Kristi Zwach, Helena Mares, Joe & Becky Kroll, Scott & Julie Becker, Helen Callaghan, Dr. Christina Carter, Midwest Dental, Mightycause, Your Cause, Wells Fargo, Megan & Brian Holmes, Thomas & Julie Schultz, Kathy Willette, Alex & Christa Granlund, Muriel Seltz, Holly Hamdorf, Carly Wirkus, Sunnyside PTA, Pinewood PTA, Bel Air PTA, Hyatt Corporation, Your Cause, Presbyterian Church of the Way, Melissa Danielsen, Jeanne Szurek, Thomas Bergstrom, Brian Solsrud & Toni Rahn, Luke & Melissa Smith, Elizabeth Baldwin, James Bartsch, Daniel and Caroline Beckman, Deetta Boulais, Doug & Julie Bowman, Boy Scout Troop 639 - North Oaks, Donna Bruno, C.G. Hill and Sons, Inc., Patty Olson, Dayton Lang and Associates Simply Resurface, Linda & Dayton Lang, Kathleen Diffley, Andrew Dornbush, Kathryn and Paul Ernst, Faith Christian Reformed Church, Pastors Erin & Adam Stout, Renee Griep, Peter Grottodden, David Haas, Hunger Solutions Minnesota- Joe Walker, John & Rosemary Hunt, Foothills Foundation- Kara Johnson, Julie Jones, Janet and Alan Karvonen-Montgomery, Jack Kochie, Deb and Vince Louwagie, Lee & Tim McGrath , Jason & Renee Miller , Susan Moen, Presbyterian Church of the Way, Amy Davies & Pastor Parker , Pursuit Community Church, Pastor Mark Allen , Cari Sather , Sarah and Evan Schnell, Clarene Seemann, St. Odilia Catholic Church, Jim Saumweber, Stephen and Noreen Thompson, Turtle Lake Elementary School, Kerry Forsberg, James & Susan Wandell, Kathleen Willette, Susanne Yerich, American Student Transportation- Chelaine Crego and Kevin Bisek, Bell Lumber and Pole Company-Tom Bell and John Ottaviani, Fred and Marty Bergsrud, Bethlehem Baptist Church- Pastor Vince Johnson, Peter Bonemeyer, Jenni and Steve Bruess, Susan Canine, Christ the King Lutheran Church - Pastor Peter and Priscilla Berg, City of New Brighton, Dean Lotter, Damerow Foundation- Kathryn and Wayne Damerow, Decko - Michel Sales Company, Ruth Allen and Decko Staff, Doug & Nicole Erickson, Faith Christian Reformed Church - Pastors Erin and Adam Stout, Julie and Greg Frandsen, Michael & Danielle Geraci, Patrick Gray, Nancy Haugen, Incarnation Lutheran Church- Laurel Engelman and Becky Benson, Diane and Kevin Kuehn, Jeffrey Kueng, Kurt Manufacturing - Taylor Erickson and Jim Russell, Barbara Laporte, Lunds and Byerlys Roseville - Dick Loe and Ken Atzmiller, Mayor Sandy Martin, New Brighton Lions Club, Open Your Heart to the Hungry and Homeless Grant, Abbie Tish - Hunger Solutions, Pet Evolution, Rebarfab Inc., Erin Sawyer, Rex Liquor Barrel, David & Judith Schlief and Cindy Swanson.

A look ahead

January 28, 7 p.m., regular meeting​

February 6, 6 p.m., work session​

February 11, 7 p.m., regular meeting​

Para asistencia en traducciones ó ayuda como intérprete, por favor comuníquese con Angel Toro al 651-724-2854. Yog xa tau kev pab thiab hais ua lus Hmoob thov hu rau Mee Yang ntawm 651-724-0396. Haddi aad ubaahantahay faahfaahin dheerad ah ama turjumaad, fadlan kala soo xiriir Ali Ali, taleefanka 651-724-7482.