King William and Mary Stuart

Tara Nigro

About King William and Mary

King William and Mary Stuart were the Monarch's of England in the late 1600's. They upheld the Protestant religion and led an army. After only a month of ruling, England went to war with France. The couple despised the previous ruler, James II, and had to accept many acts passed by Parliament in 1689, including the English Bill of Rights. Mary was the daughter of James II and William was his nephew. The two rulers ran a Constitutional Government and Limited Monarchy.


William: Reigned 1689-1702. Born November fourth, 1650. Died March eighth, 1702.

Mary: Reigned 1689-1694. Born 1662. Died 1694.

King William and Mary wanted to better England and keep control and fix the wrong doings of James II.

Government Types

Constitutional Government

The existence of a constitution that effectively controls political power.

Limited/Constitutional Government

A King/Queen acts as head of state, but the ability to make or pass legislation is up to parliament, not the Monarchs.


King William and Mary earned religious freedom for most people and upheld the Protestant Religion. They did this by signing the Toleration Act of 1689. They also kept power over James II, the previous unfair leader, even if it meant going to war. (The Glorious Revolution). In 1960, William led his Army to a victory at the Battle of Boyne.

The Glorious Revolution

King William used the Bill of Rights to invade England and overthrow James II in the November of 1688. After two minor battles, James' army collapsed leading James to flee to France. After in 1689, William convinced the new Parliament to let him and Mary be joint Monarchs. This Revolution ended all chance of Catholicism coming back in England, which sparked rebellions in the American colonies. This was the last successful invasion of England however, and is sometimes known as the "Bloodless Revolution".


Declaration of Rights

The English Bill of Rights

Toleration Act of 1689

Civil List Act

Settlement Act of 1701

The English Bill of Rights

The English Bill of Rights were signed on December sixteenth, 1689. It was almost a restatement of The Declaration of Rights to William and Mary to be joint leaders. The English Bill of Rights set limits on Monarchs and the rights of Parliament. It gave succession to Mary's sister, Anne, and explained rights for individuals including cruel and unusual punishment and the liberty of Protestants. The English Bill of Rights also listed most of the misdeeds of James II so they would not be repeated.

King William III of England

Queen Mary II of England

King James II of England