Stanwood Middle School

Family Update - February 13th, 2021

Good morning Stanwood Middle School Families!


This is another reminder that school pictures at Stanwood Middle School will be on Wednesday, February 17th. There is a flyer later in this message with much more information.


Use the link to below sign up. Here are some important items for Wednesday:


1. Please arrive only a few minutes before the time you have selected.

2. Make sure your student has a mask on.

3. Students will be screened by Ms. Christmas at the front door and then move towards the gym while maintaining social distancing.

4. Once at the photographer students can take off their masks for the picture.

5. Students will exit into the same parking lot they were dropped off at, just out the doors further to the west. This will limit contact for everyone.

6. Parents, please drop off your student at the front of school and then wait in the same parking lot. We anticipate this will be a very quick process.


Here is the link to reserve a time:


https://www.signupgenius.com/go/10C0D4BAAA62BA2F9C43-stanwood


As we mentioned last week, the District sent out a survey to families regarding returning in a Hybrid Model.


Click here to fill out the survey if you haven't already completed it. Thank you in advance!


You should have also received the Secondary Return Family Communication with many links embedded. If you did not please click on it below and you will see the information.


If you have any requests or questions about scheduling, especially if you would like to match your SMS student with an Elementary sibling's schedule, please contact our counselor at kfox@stanwood.wednet.edu


Middle School Sports

Currently, we are planning for our return to sports at the middle level. If you are interested in your Spartan participating, please fill out the survey below (no need to do it twice if you've already filled it out).


Middle School Sport Survey


Spartans Stay Safe


As we plan for Spartans to return to Stanwood Middle School, our top priority is everyone's safety. You and your Spartan will see videos and posters (examples below) to reflect student expectations to keep everyone safe and healthy at school. We are continuing to get the school ready for students following all health department guidelines. Spartans have been doing hard things all year; together we can do this together too!


As we work to follow all of the protocols required for our return, it is important that you make sure your Spartan knows the following:


--Daily Attestation questions + temperature check to be in building.

--Students will go straight to their first class in the morning.

--Masks covering nose and mouth at all times.

--Social distancing in classrooms and hallways at all times.

--Bathroom breaks during class time only.

--No food. Water bottles during class in the hallway.

--Bring charged chromebook and headphones daily.


Please reach out if you have any questions or concerns. We will be sending much more information as we move closer to a return.


Have a great weekend!


Tod Klundt

Principal

Stanwood Middle School

Big picture
Big picture

More information

Class Meeting + Advisory this week


We will have a short class meeting before advisory this week. We will answer all the questions and give lots of information regarding our return on February 22.


6th Grade: SMS2027 @ 11:15

7th Grade: SMS2026 @ 12:15

8th Grade: SMS2025 @ 1:15


We look forward to this weekly check-in with all students to make sure everyone is up to speed with all the latest happenings at school.

_____________________________________

A message from our Counselor Ms. Fox!

Kindness Categories


Hello Everyone! This week in Class Meetings, we continued talking about Kindness with a Character Strong lesson called “Kindness Categories.”


We brainstormed ways to put kindness into action in meaningful ways, with the categories you’ll see below. Students shared such great ideas! Feel free to continue these conversations at home!


Please email me if you have any questions or would like some extra support for your student: KFox@stanwood.wednet.edu


Keep it up, everyone! We are getting through this strange time together with Kindness and Care!




Kara Fox
Counselor
Stanwood Middle School

Big picture
Big picture

School Pictures

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Teacher Office Hours and Email Addresses



Wednesday office hours (unless listed as a separate day/time!)

Teacher, office hour code, time


Mrs. Austin, austinofficehours, 9 to 10am

Mrs. Berg, berghelp, 9 to 10am

Mrs. Beuthien, gbss, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mr. Bliss, weeklybliss, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Bridenbaugh, bridenbaugh, 9 to 10am

Mrs. Brown, brownofficehour, 9 to 10am

Mrs. Diel, diel7help or diel8help, 8th is 9 to 9:30am and 7th is 9:30 to 10am

Mrs. Donovan, donovanhelp, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mr. Gelatt, gelattpe, 8:30 to 9:30am

Mr. Getzinger, getzingersms, 9:30 to 10:30am

Ms. Holum, cholum, 1:30 to 2:30pm

Ms. Kinker, kinker, 9 to 10am

Mr. Lukasik, lukasikscience, 9 to 10am

Mr. May, scoobydoo, 9:30 to 10:30am

Ms. Riker, riker, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Rockwood, rockwoodmusic, 8:30 to 9:30am

Ms. Walker (Rose), rosescience, 9 to 10am

Mrs. ten Hoopen (Ruhaak), gonavy, 9 to 10am

Mr. Schonberg, schonbergela, 9 to 10am

Mrs. Shoemaker, shoehelp, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Shoemaker, shoehelp, Pre-Algebra Tuesday 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Shoemaker, shoehelp, Algebra Friday 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Stuart stuarthelp, 8:30 to 9:30am

Mrs. Stunz, stunzpe or stunzela, PE 8:30 to 9:30am and ELA 9 to 10am

Mrs. Thomas, thomashelp, 9:30 to 10:30am

Mrs. Thomas, thomashelp, Algebra Friday 9:30 to 10:30am

Mr. Wall, wallgocougs, 8:30 to 9:30am

__________________________________________________________


Also, here is our staff list with email addresses for quick reference in case you need to contact teachers:


AUSTIN saustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

BERG jberg@stanwood.wednet.edu

BEUTHIEN gbeuthien@stanwood.wednet.edu

BLISS pbliss@stanwood.wednet.edu

BRIDENBAUGH kbridenbaugh@stanwood.wednet.edu

BROWN, LBROWN@stanwood.wednet.edu

DIEL KDIEL@stanwood.wednet.edu

DONOVAN adonovan@stanwood.wednet.edu

GELATT DGELATT@stanwood.wednet.edu

GETZINGER JGETZINGER@stanwood.wednet.edu

HOLUM CHOLUM@stanwood.wednet.edu

KINKER bkinker@stanwood.wednet.edu

LUKASIK plukasik@stanwood.wednet.edu

MAY BMAY@stanwood.wednet.edu

RIKER mriker@stanwood.wednet.edu

ROCKWOOD MROCKWOOD@stanwood.wednet.edu

WALKER (ROSE ) mwalker@stanwood.wednet.edu

SCHONBERG jschonberg@stanwood.wednet.edu

SHOEMAKER KSHOEMAKER@stanwood.wednet.edu

STUART CSTUART@stanwood.wednet.edu

STUNZ LSTUNZ@stanwood.wednet.edu

TEN HOOPEN (Ruhaak) mtenhoopen@stanwood.wednet.edu

THOMAS kthomas@stanwood.wednet.edu

WALL LWALL@stanwood.wednet.edu

____________________________________________________________________________________

Big picture
Big picture

Signs of Suicide Information

Please see information/links below related to our District Signs of Suicide Curriculum.

________________________________________________________________________________

Big picture

Message from Food Service

Here is a link from our Food Service Department.


Please click on this link food service page.

Big picture

The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.



El Distrito Escolar de Stanwood-Camano School District no discrimina en sus programas o actividades por motivos de sexo, raza, credo, religión, color, origen nacional, edad, condición de veterano de guerra o grado militar, orientación sexual, expresión de género o identidad, discapacidad o uso de perro guía entrenado o animal de servicio, y ofrece igualdad de acceso a los Boy Scouts y a otros grupos de jóvenes especificados. El empleado mencionado a continuación ha sido designado para atender consultas y quejas de supuesta discriminación: Título IX / Oficial de Acción Afirmativa y Coordinador de Cumplimiento de Derechos Civiles, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), o la Sección 504 / Coordinador de la Ley de Discapacidades Estadounidenses, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu), Distrito Escolar Stanwood-Camano, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Teléfono: (360) 629- 1200