3rd Grade Happenings

Monday, September 23, 2019

Congratulations to the 9th and 3rd grade classes that teamed up during Homecoming week to complete against other classes in the school to see who could raise the most money for a local charity. We won!!! CONGRATULATIONS, students!

Big picture

READING LOGS

I am asking students to read 20 minutes/night for 5 nights a week. (Total of 100 minutes/week). Next reading log is due Monday, September 30, 2019.

MATH FACTS

We are practicing our math facts daily in class. If a student is having trouble passing a level, I would like them to also practice them at home to keep them moving along so they don't fall behind. We have begun addition this week. We will move into subtraction next, followed by multiplication and division as the students progress. You can purchase flashcards at the dollar store for $1 if you need some! Please let me know if you need resources to help your child with their facts...

PAINT SHIRT

Please send an old paint shirt to school with your child. They may be using these in art, after school, or in the classroom throughout the year.

Spelling week of September 23rd

tests, hammers, paints, hands, pages, tables, apples, trains, papers, clowns, eggs, addresses, dresses, classes, matches, places

Vocabulary Words for the week of September 23rd:

wrath: fierce anger

ravenous: very hungry, starved

atrocious: evil, cruel

meager: very small, not enough of something

appease: to make someone pleased or less angry

FYI-Important Information and Upcoming Events!

Wednesday, September 25: PJ Day for $1.00

Friday, September 27: Hat Day for $1.00

Friday, September 27: 12:00 Dismissal (Professional Development for staff)

Wednesday, October 16: End of 1st Quarter; Early Dismissal at 12:00 (Staff Development)

Thursday, October 17: NO SCHOOL (MEA)

Friday, October 18: NO SCHOOL (MEA)

Friday, November 1: NO SCHOOL Staff Development Day

Wednesday, November 27-29: No School, Thanksgiving Break

Friday, December 13: Dismissal at 12:00, Staff Development

Friday, December 20: Last day of 2nd Quarter.

December 23-January 3: NO SCHOOL, Winter Break