Democracy and federal government

by mikala

History of federation

The Commonwealth was formed in 1901 when six british colonies agreed to join together and become the states of a new nation.The rules of this governmentfor the new nation were inshrined in the constitution, which was defined how the australian was to operate in what issues it could pass on.


Australia's formal name is the Commonwealth of Australia. The form of government used in Australia is a constional monarchy-'constional' because the powers and procedures of the Australian Goverment are defined by a written constition, and 'monarchy' because Australia's head of state is Queen Elizabeth ll.
Big image

Sybols and emblems

The coat of arms crest has 6 parts to it that represents the territories of Australia, Northern Territory, Western Australia, Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania, South Australia.

New South Wales:the cross of with lion
and stars

Victorian: Imperial Crown and Southern cross

Queensland :a blue maltese crossand Crown

South Australia:the Australian piping shrike

Western Australia:a black swan

Tasmania:a red walking lion

Australian flag

  • The Union Jack in the upper hoist quadrant or first quarter is Australia's historical links with Great Britain. The Union Jack is coloured of red and white intersecting and overlayed vertical and diagonal crosses on a blue background,

  • The Southern Cross in the second quarter (also known as the top or head) and fourth quarter. Consists of five stars in a more or less kite-like pattern
  • Colours and logos


    State Coat of Arms Badge Floral Bird Animal Fish Motto Colours Other

    new south wales

    coat of arms
    Badge of New South Wales

    kookaburraplatypuseastern blue groperSky blue


    coat of arms


    Badge of Victoria







    weedy seadragon

    navy blue and white

    Badge of Queensland

    Audax at Fidelis
    Bold but FaithfulMaroon

    State Gem:


    Badge of Western Australia
    --Gold and black

    south australia
    Badge of South Australia

    -Red, blue and gold

    State Gem: opal

    Territory Coat of Arms Floral Bird Animal Motto Colours Other

    australian capital territory

    -For the Queen, the Law and the PeopleBlue and gold

    The population of Australia

    The total population of Australia from 2004 to 2014, Australia had a total population of about 22.8 million people. Australia is amongone of the ten largest countries in the world, in terms of area size, although its total population is low on numbers compared to other countries in the world.

    prime minister

    the prime minister Tony abbott , is known to be the highest minister to the crown, leader to the cabinet and head of the goverment holding on commision from the Governor-general of Australia.

    three arms of the australian government

    The three levels of the australian government are:

    federal-parliment legistates, or makes rules for the whole of Australia.

    six states and two mainland territory parliments-make laws for their states and territories.

    over 650 councils-make local laws, called by laws for their region or district.

    Each level of government has its own responsibilities, although in some cases these responsibilities overlap.

    the nsw premier

    The nsw premier Mike Baird is the head of the government in New South Wales. The government of new south wales has to follow the rules Westminster system with the parliment of new south wales Parliament of New South Wales acting as the legislature.


    the parliment house has 2 rooms called the senate and the house of representatives.

    the senate

    The senate is one of the 2 houses in the parliment of a Australia. It consists of 76 senators, twelve from each of the six states and two from each of the mainland territories. It shares the power to make laws with the other House of Parliament, the House of Representatives. The Senate is elected by proportional representation, so that its composition closely reflects the voting pattern of the electors.

    The house of representatives

    The House of Representatives is one of the two houses of Australia’s Commonwealth Parliament. There are 150 representatives elected by the Australian people. The House of Representatives is the house in which government is formed.

    Courts,bills and laws

    Bills- In parliment a bill is known to be a proposal for a new law.

    Courts-A house to debate of somebody guilty.

    Laws- A set of rules for everybody to follow


    Elections are made by everybody over the age of 18. It is illegal to vote if you are under the age of 18.

    Political parties

    The 3 political parties are liberal, labour and the national party. Tony Abott is in the liberal party.

    Local council

    The local council is in charge of different jobs such as rubbish bin pick up, street lamps, bike hires, schools, paths and parks. The rubbish pick up usually comes once a week.