The Seahawks Call

Week of September 14, 2020 Volume 2

Message from Principal Taylor

I think we can all agree that students and teachers are getting better with adjusting to virtual teaching and learning. As I joined several classrooms throughout the week, it's so wonderful to see teachers utilizing tools within Zoom and using other applications to engage students. We appreciate your continued patience, understanding and flexibility as we continue this journey together. #SomerStrong

DIAGNOSTIC ASSESSMENTS


All middle school students will be required to complete two diagnostic assessments between September 14 and September 23, 2020. Each student will take a comprehensive assessment that includes ELA, Science and Social Studies and a Math assessment. The purpose of these assessments are to:


  • Determine students’ learning gaps from the previous grade level
  • Provide data to help teachers plan instruction that will address those gaps


Parents received an email from Milton Somers School on Tuesday, September 8th with more details regarding the diagnostic tests. However, the directions explain how student can access their assessement independently. If you have any questions, please contact Milton Somers' Learning Resource Teacher, Ms. Suzanne Johnson, at srjohnson@ccboe.com.

How do I access the Diagnostic Assessments independently?

How do I turn in assignments to my teacher? Answer: Through the Dropbox

CODE OF CONDUCT

Milton Somers would like to remind students and families that the Students’ Rights, Responsibilities, and Code of Conduct remain in effect while school is online. Now that students are logging into Synergy during virtual learning, we want to remind everyone that all messages, pictures, videos, and other images that are being posted must fall within the guidelines of the Code of Conduct.

SCHOOL SUPPORTS

ADMINISTRATIVE TEAM

Marlon Walker - 6th Grade VP - mwalker@ccboe.com

Cynthia Panizzi - 7th Grade VP - cpanizzi@ccboe.com

Wualanda Thenstead - 8th Grade VP - wthenstead@ccboe.com

Sonia Matthew - Administrative Asst. - smatthew@ccoe.com


COUNSELING SUPPORTS

Kenneth Tojek - 6th Grade Counselor - ktojek@ccboe.com

Nancy Franklin - 7th Grade Counselor - nfranklin@ccboe.com

Brittany Williams - 8th Grade Counselor - bwilliams@ccboe.com


INSTRUCTIONAL LEADERSHIP TEAM

Andrea Johnson - Reading Resource Teacher (Reading) - afjohnson@ccboe.com

Jennifer Branham - Instructional Resource Teacher (Math) - jbranham@ccboe.com

Suzanne Johnson - Learning Resource Teacher (Gifted Education and Testing Coordinator) - srjohnson@ccboe.com

The Charles County public school system does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, national origin, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, age or disability in its programs, activities or employment practices. For inquiries, please contact Kathy Kiessling, Title IX Coordinator and Section 504 Coordinator (students), or Nikial M. Majors, Section 504 Coordinator (employees/adults), at Charles County Public Schools, Jesse L. Starkey Administration Building, P.O. Box 2770, La Plata, Maryland 20646. 301-932-6610/301-870-3814. For special accommodations call 301-934-7230 or TDD 1-800-735-2258 two weeks prior to the event.