Georgia's Executive Branch

By: Shani Zavlunov

The Different Departments

There are six different departments in Georgia's Evecutive Branch.

  1. Department of Education
  2. Department of Human Resources
  3. Department of Public Safety
  4. Department of Transportation
  5. Department of Economic Development
  6. Department of Natural Resources

Department of Human Resources

This department is one of the largest agencies. It services include assisting the elderly, family and children's services, and mental health.

How does the Department of Human Resources help the community?

There are so many different ways this department can help a community. It can help the elderly and protect them if they need help, protect childrens and adults, child welfare, stronger families and self-sufficiency.

Some examples of how this department helps a community:

Helps families

  • Provides eligible families with financial assistance for previously incurred medical expenses.
  • Finds foster homes for abused children.
  • Helps parents find jobs.

Helps the elderly

  • Helps older people with disabilities.
  • Makes sure elderly's needs are properly and effictavely met.
  • Checks for elder abuse.

Helps with financial assistance

  • Exceed 10% of the first $100,000 of income, plus 15% of any income in excess of $100,000.
  • Children ages zero to 21, covered expenses include, but are not limited to, special ambulatory care or more.