MoASSP Messenger September 27, 2019

Volume 33 Number 7

Since August 1987, MoASSP Messenger has been published by the Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals, a non-profit organization affiliated with the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

IT ISN'T TOO LATE TO REGISTER FOR THE FALL CONFERENCE

Click here to register or call us at 573-445-5071. We are here to help. Walk-ins are welcome on Sunday. Check out the Conference Program below.
Big picture

Stay Connected Digitally & Download the Conference Mobile App from Apple or Google Play Store

We now have this year's conference on a mobile app for your phone or desktop. It is quick and easy.


  • Go to Apple or Google Play Store
  • Download the “NASSP Events App”
  • Once downloaded, look for Leading FUTURE-FOCUSED Schools MoASSP/MCCTA Fall Conference 2019 event
  • Here is a link to the desktop version for those who don’t want to download the app on their phones - https://engagefully.org/Home/Details/61?s=&upcoming=false
Big picture
MoASSP President, Marc Spunaugle, Welcomes Secondary School Leaders

HELP US WELCOME 10 NEW MoASSP MEMBERS

  1. Cody Bashore Nichols Career Center cody.bashore@jcschools.us Director C
  2. Anthony Madry Central Academy amadry@kcpublicschools.org Principal KC
  3. Charlette Wafer Central Academy cwafer@republicschools.org Instructional Coach KC
  4. Anthony Holland Central Academy aholland@kcpublicschools.org Assistant Principal KC
  5. Michael Robbins Central Academy mrobbins@kcpublicschools.org KC
  6. Gwendolyn Litzsey Central Academy glitzsey@kcpublicschools.org Assistant Principal KC
  7. Kristi Meeks Harrisonville R-IX School District kristi.meeks@harrisonvilleschools.org Director of Curriculum KC
  8. Stanley Johnson Wentzville MS stanleyjohnson@wsdr4.org Assistant Principal SL
  9. Jeffrey Patterson East Newton HS pattersonje@eastnewton.org Principal SW
  10. Anne Hickman Clever HS hickmana@cleverbluejays.org Assistant Principal SW

29 Renewals


  1. Linda Heishman Crest Ridge Secondary lheishman@crestridge.org Assistant Principal C
  2. Roy King Nowlin MS roy_king@isdschools.org Assistant Principal KC
  3. Mark Maus Winnetonka HS mark.maus@nkcschools.org Executive Dir. of College & Career HR KC
  4. Lori Mertz Nowlin MS lori_mertz@isdschools.org Principal KC
  5. Brian Schultz Nowlin MS brian_schultz@isdschools.org Assistant Principal KC
  6. Jessica Temple Nowlin MS jessica_temple@isdschools.org Assistant Principal KC
  7. Todd Whitaker University of MO whitakertc@missouri.edu Professor NE
  8. Sarah Barmann-Smith Albany HS sbarmannsmith@albany.k12.mo.us Principal NW
  9. Mike Hollingsworth Nodaway-Holt J/SHS mhollingsworth@nodholt.org Principal NW
  10. Tracy Platt Smithville HS plattt@smithville.k12.mo.us Principal NW
  11. Jennifer Smith Sullivan HS schmidtj@sullivaneagles.org Principal SC
  12. Lisa Bertrand Southeast MO State Univ. lbertrand@semo.edu Professor SE
  13. Dustin Jenkerson Farmington MS djenkerson@farmington.k12.mo.us Principal SE
  14. Todd McKinney Farmington MS tmckinney@farmington.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal SE
  15. Michael Owen Poplar Bluff HS michaelowen@pb.k12.mo.us Principal SE
  16. Valerie Kamhi Parkway West HS vlkamhi@ssdmo.org Area Coordinator SL
  17. Ken Kasten Wentzville MS kennethkasten@wsdr4.org Assistant Principal SL
  18. Emily McCown Rockwood Summit HS mccownemily@rsdmo.org Principal SL
  19. Katie McElfresh Wentzville MS kaitlinmcelfresh@wsdr4.org Assistant Principal SL
  20. Kelly Muzzey Valley Park MS kmuzzey@vp.k12.mo.us Principal SL
  21. Justin Reynolds Washington HS reynoldsj@msdr9.org Principal SL
  22. Stacy Stewart St. Dominic HS sstewart@stdominichs.org Principal SL
  23. Kisandra Worley Saeger MS krisandra.worley@fhsdschools.org Principal SL
  24. Terry Jamieson Hollister HS tjamieson@hollisterschools.com Principal SW
  25. Becky Justis Spokane MS justisr@spokane.k12.mo.us Assistant Principal SW
  26. Kirk Slater Jarrett HS kslater@spsmail.org Principal SW
  27. Jeffrey Wead Willard HS jeffwead@willardschools.net Assistant Principal SW
  28. John Whitehead Seneca JHS jwhitehead@senecar7.com Principal SW
  29. Richard Wylie Mansfield R-IV HS rwylie@mansfieldschool.net Principal SW

AWARDS LUNCHEON MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 30

We will be honoring the following secondary school leaders during the Awards Luncheon on Monday. They were announced by their region last spring. Congratulations to each of the regional winners. The AP, Middle, and HS Principals of the Year will be vying for the state principal of the year recognition.

REGIONAL EXEMPLARY NEW PRINCIPALS 2019-2020

Big picture

REGIONAL ASSISTANT PRINCIPALS OF THE YEAR 2019-2020

Big picture

REGIONAL MIDDLE SCHOOL PRINCIPALS OF THE YEAR 2019-2020

Big picture

REGIONAL HIGH SCHOOL PRINCIPALS OF THE YEAR 2019-2020

Big picture

ROBERT C. HOWE SERVICE TO SECONDARY EDUCATION 2019 AWARD RECIPIENTS

Since 1988, MoASSP has annually presented an exceptional award at the Fall Conference to those individuals who have made significant contributions to secondary education. This award was renamed the Robert C. Howe Service to Secondary Education Award in 1995. This year's recipients are longtime MoASSP Administrative Assistant (30+ years), Candy Bristow, Lynn Snow, longtime principal at Sedalia Smith-Cotton, MoASSP Past President and Board Member, and Phil Lewis retired MoASSP Executive Director and former principal. All three will be recognized for their years of service to secondary education at the Awards Luncheon, Monday, September 30.

BEGINNING TEACHER CONFERENCES SCHEDULED

If you have a teacher in their first, second, or third year, consider sending them to one of our two Beginning Teacher Conferences. Click on the links below for more information.


St. Louis Area

Warrensburg Area

Big picture

OCTOBER IS NATIONAL PRINCIPALS MONTH...INVITE YOUR LEGISLATOR TO YOUR SCHOOL...ADVOCATING FOR PRINCIPALS, WITH PRINCIPALS

"Every year in October, the American Federation of School Administrators (AFSA), the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP), and the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP) join forces to celebrate principals for their tireless dedication to their students and the schools they serve. This year, National Principals Month is shifting focus and using its platform to advocate on behalf of principals. These school leaders fight every day to give their students the best education, and it’s time we advocate for them and with them. Lend your voice this October to honor, celebrate, and advocate for principals everywhere." NASSP


Now is the time to start or strengthen a relationship with your elected official(s). You will help to educate them on important issues before the legislative session begins in January. Having them interact with staff and students will also provide essential insights for them. As they deliberate on educational issues during the legislative session, they will reflect on their visit to your school. FIND YOUR LEGISLATOR: Enter your home or school’s address for a list of state and federal legislators in your area. Write a letter or email inviting them to visit your school. If needed, follow up with a phone call. Our MoASSP office will assist you in scheduling and coordination. Call us at 573-445-5071. Once you have them scheduled, please share with us the date they are coming. Consider watching this webinar on why and how to host a legislative visit to your school.

MoASSP Action Center...WE NEED YOU! Lets be ready for the next legislative session that begins in January.

MoASSP partnered with NASSP a year ago, using a new advocacy tool called Phone 2 Action. If you haven't become an "Advocate" yet, please do so. It is simple. Click on this link and provide the following information, and confirm subscription:
  • home address
  • cell number
  • personal email (not school)
  • You will then receive a text message from 528-86 with the following message: "Reply YES to confirm your subscription to Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals Action Center.

It is that simple. You do not have to send a message to your legislator to become an advocate. When we have an action item that needs support, we will be ready to act.

MESSAGE FROM MISSOURI ASSOCIATION STUDENT COUNCILS


MASC is sponsored by the Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals (MoASSP) and is affiliated with the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP). It is a voluntary membership organization which provides leadership training activities for member schools. Membership is open to all junior high, middle and high schools, both public and private, in Missouri. Nearly 300 schools in MO belong to MASC which serves over 15,000 students throughout the year at its annual events.


MASC’s mission is to provide programs and resources that develop positive student leaders and advisors who will promote a quality school and community environment. MASC believes it is essential for a student council to promote a positive learning environment and build a school culture where students and staff are comfortable.


Professional development will be offered for new and veteran advisors at Old Kinderhook Lodge, on October 12, 13, 14. If you are interested in helping your student council advisor learn more, check out this page.


MASC provides Fall Conferences in each of the seven regions of Missouri. These one-day meetings offer leadership training for students and advisors, a motivational speaker, small and large group workshops and lunch. Registration information can be found on our website under the Districts tab. Here is a list of the host schools.


Membership is open now, and schools are encouraged to join before December 31 to take advantage of all the benefits of membership. Dues are $100 per school year, and the membership link can be found here. For additional information or questions, contact Terri Johnson. 816-261-7079 masc@masc1.org

Big picture

WHEN YOU RENEW YOUR MoASSP MEMBERSHIP FOR 2019-2020, YOU WILL RECEIVE ELN. CLICK ON THE IMAGE BELOW FOR MORE INFORMATION.

Upcoming Regional Meetings, Workshops, & New Principals Conference Information

Check out all of the upcoming regional, workshops, and spring conference information by going to the MoASSP website.
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

2019-2020 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

  • NASSP Coordinator for Missouri: Chris Hoehne
    Ste. Genevieve HS
  • MoASSP President: Marc Spunaugle, Lincoln HS
  • MoASSP President-Elect: Jim Pritchett, Rolla HS
  • MoASSP Past President: Ed Gettemeier, Hardin MS
  • MoASSP Treasurer: Kathryn Greer, Francis Howell North HS
  • At-Large Non-Public: Valerie Todd, St. Mary's HS
  • At-Large Assistant Principal: Jennifer Strauser, Eureka HS
  • At-Large Middle Level: Jonathan Apostol, Monett MS
  • Kansas City (GKCMPA): Jeff Meisenheimer, Lee's Summit North HS
  • Northwest: Robert Bowers, Lathrop HS
  • Northeast: Scott Daly, Hallsville HS
  • Southeast: Dan Hecht, Kelly-Benton HS
  • Southwest: Keith White, Buffalo HS
  • South Central: Kelle McCallum, Washington HS
  • Central: Brandon Harding, Cole Camp HS
  • St. Louis (SASSP): Jonathan Shultz Francis Howell HS

2019-2020 REGIONAL PRESIDENTS

  1. Central Region: Jarrod Steffens, Clinton HS
  2. GKCMPA: Kayla England, Lee's Summit West HS
  3. Northeast Region: Andy Jackson, LaPlata HS
  4. Northwest Region: Clint Howren, Savannah MS
  5. SASSP: Earl Draper, DuBray MS (Fort Zumwalt)
  6. South Central Region: Joe Stammers, St. James HS
  7. Southeast Region: Gena Sitton, Advance HS
  8. Southwest Region: Jack Randolph, West Plains HS

Missouri Association of Secondary School Principals

The vision of MoASSP is to serve ALL middle level and high school administrators.


The mission of MoASSP is to improve secondary education through positive leadership and the enhancement of student performance.