Friday Focus: Special Edition

Monday, January 11, 2016 . . . vol. 3, no. 17a

Friday Focus is a quick digest of news and notes for members of the Indianapolis Public Library Shared System.
Big image

The 2016 ALA Youth Media Awards have been announced! Note that IndyPL Kids Blog pages will be updated today to make ordering easier.

Award highlights include:

Newbery Medal winner –

Last Stop on Market Street, Matt de la Pena

Honor – The War that Saved My Life, Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Roller Girl, Victoria Jamieson

Echo, Pam Munoz Ryan

Caldecott Medal winner –

Finding Winnie: The True Story of the World’s Most Famous Bear, illustrated by Sophie Blackall

Honor -- Trombone Shorty, illustrated by Bryan Collier

Waiting, illustrated by Kevin Henkes

Voice of Freedom, illustrated by Euka Holmes

Last Stop on Market Street, illustrated by Christian Robinson

Printz Award winner –

Bone Gap, Laura Ruby

Honor – Out of Darkness, Ashley Hope Perez

The Ghosts of Heaven, Marcus Sedgwick

Coretta Scott King (Author) Book Award winner –

Gone Crazy in Alabama, Rita Williams-Garcia

Honor – All American Boys, Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely

The Boy in the Black Suit, Jason Reynolds

X: a Novel, Ilyasah Shabazz with Kelka Magoon

Coretta Scott King (Illustrator) Book Award winner – T

rombone Shorty, illustrated by Bryan Collier

Honor – The Book Itch, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie

Last Stop on Market Street, illustrated by Christian Robinson

Pura Belpre Award winner – illustration –

The Drum Dream Girl, illustrated by Rafael Lopez

Honor – My Tata’s Remedies, illustrated by Antonio Castro L.

Mango, Abuela, and Me, Illustrated by Angela Dominguez

Funny Bones,illustrated by Duncan Tonatiuh

Pura Belpre Award winner – text

Enchanted Air, Margarita Engle

Honor – The Smoking Mirror, David Bowles

Mango, Abuela and Me, Meg Medina

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award –

Don’t Throw It To Mo!, David A. Adler

Honor -- A Pig, a Fox, and a Box, Jonathan Fenske

Supertruck, Stephen Savage

Waiting, Kevin Henkes

YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction winner –

Most Dangerous, Steve Sheinkin

Sibert Medal winner –

Funny Bones, Duncan Tonatiuh

Honor -- Drowned City, Don Brown

The Boys Who Challenged Hitler, Phillip Hoose

Turning 15 on the Road to Freedom, Lynda Blackmon Lowery

Voice of Freedom, Carole Boston Weatherford

Morris Award winner –

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda, Becky Albertalli

Stonewall Book Award –

George, Alex Gino

The Porcupine of Truth, Bill Konigsberg (Young Adult – new category!)

Honor – Wonders of the Invisible World, Christopher Barzak

Sex is a Funny Word, Cory Silverberg and Fiona Smyth

Schneider Family Book Awards winners –

Emmanuel’s Dream, Laurie Ann Thompson (Young Children)

Fish in a Tree, Lynda Mullaly Hunt (Middle Grade)

The War that Saved my Life, Kimberly Brubaker Bradley (Middle Grade)

The Unlikely Hero of Room 13B, Teresa Toten (Teen)

Mildred Batchelder Award winner –

The Wonderful Fluffy Little Squishy, Beatrice Alemagna

Honor – Adam and Thomas, Aharon Appelfeld

Grandma Lives in a Perfume Village, Fang Suzhen

Written and Drawn by Henrietta, Liniers

Coretta Scott King John Steptoe Award –

Hoodoo, Ronald L. Smith (author)

Voice of Freedom, Euka Holmes (illustrator award)

Odyssey Award winner –

The War that Saved My Life, Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

Honor – Echo, Pam Munoz Ryan

Coretta Scott King - Virginia Hamilton Award for Lifetime Achievement – Jerry Pinkney

Margaret A. Edwards Award – David Levithan

May Hill Arbuthnot Honor Lecture Award – Jacqueline Woodson

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award – Jerry Pinkney

Alex Awards:

All Involved, Ryan Gattis

Between the World and Me, Ta-Nehisi Coates

Bones and All, Camille DeAngelis

Futuristic Violence and Fancy Suits, David Wong

Girl at War, Sara Novic

Half the World, Joe Abercrombie

Humans of New York, Brandon Stanton

Sacred Heart, Liz Suburbia

Undocumented, Dan-el Padilla Peralta

The Unraveling of Mercy Louis, Keija Parssinen

I will send out the full press release on all of the ALA awards/honors when it becomes available later today.

In other recent book news (not part of the ALA awards):

The 2015 National Book Award for Young People’s Literature goes to Neal Shusterman’s Challenger Deep:

Horn Book announced last week that the 2016 Scott O’ Dell Award for Historical Fiction goes to Laura Amy Schlitz for The Hired Girl:

You can read the speeches of the 2015 Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Winners:

The National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) has awarded the 2016 Orbis Pictus Award for Outstanding Nonfiction for Children to Drowned City: Hurricane Katrina & New Orleans by Don Brown and the 2016 Charlotte Huck Award for Outstanding Fiction for Children to Stella by Starlight by Sharon Draper:

School Library Journal’s Battle of the Books contenders will be announced on Wednesday, January 20, 2016. Watch here for the contenders:

The 2015 Cybils (Children’s and Young Adult Blogger’s Literacy Awards) finalists have been announced (scroll down to the post for links to the various categories):

The 2016-2017 YHBA nominees have been posted:

The 2015-2016 Eliot Rosewater nominees have been posted:

Join the Friends of the Library

Why not? They sent you free Book Sale posters!


To open the proprietary intranet, click here


To open the informational/operational/social intranet, click here.