The Northwest Ordinance!


Where is the Territory?

The Northwest Territory is going to be west of the Appalachian mountains.

What states are in the Northwest Territory?

There are five of them. Ohio (the first), Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Wisconsin.

What are the major land features of the area?

There are two HUGE rivers and some mountains.

How can a territory become a state?

The state has to have 60,000 free inhabitants.

What is included in the Northwest Ordinance?

The Northwest Ordinance included rules (a path) for the territory so they could become states. They had to be a republican government. The state could govern themselves.