made by: Aliyah Casey

The Four Noble Truths

Dakkha- Truth of Suffering

Suffering, is anything not pleasing that happens to you( injury, emotional and mental issues, ect.), basically dissatisfaction. The Truth of Suffering says that our happiness will not last. Eventually we will all grow old, become sick and die.

Samudaya- Truth of the Origin of Suffering

This truth states that our thirsts/ cravings are the cause of all our suffering. Our cravings for life pleasures, such as sight, smell, touch and taste are often not fulfilled as we wish, which makes us feel dissatisfied, also known as suffer.

Nirodha- Truth of Cessation of Suffering

This truth tells us that suffering can end through Nirodha. Nirodha is the state of peace with no more craving, in which suffering also fades. It is freedom from rebirthing( reincarnation), and all worries.

Magga- Truth that leads to Suffering's Extinction

This truth is given to us after the accomplishment of, right thought, right speech, right action, right livelihood, right effort, right mindfulness and right concentration.

Buddhism: A SHORT History

The teachings of Siddhartha Gautama(Buddha) started in India and quickly spread through Southeast Asia. As more people embraced Buddhism it quickly spread to China, Korea and Vietnam. Today Buddhism is practiced in multiple countries by many people. Even though Siddhartha Gautama is believed to be the Buddha, ancient text shows that he was taught by previous Buddhas. Many Buddhist believe that Buddhism began at the beginning of time.

Big image