Allegro - from symphony #10


Dimitry Shostakovich

Movement II - Allegro

The Symphony No. 10 in E minor (Op. 93) by Dmitri Shostakovich was premiered by the Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra on 17 December 1953, following the death of Joseph Stalin in March that year.

The second movement (allegro) is a short and violent scherzo, described in Testimony as "a musical portrait of Stalin, roughly speaking"

Shostakovich - Symphony No. 10, Mvt. 2
The video is from a performance with the Jacobs School of Music Tuba-Euphonium ensemble.

The performance took place on October 16th, 2011.

Euphoniums: Keith Kile, Kennedy Wells, Curtis Prichard and Chris Leslie.
Tubas: Matt Hightower Andy Smith Genevieve Clarkson and Nimrod Ron.

Arranged by Matt Hightower.


Return to homepage