By Emiliana Shelton

Importance of meiosis

Meiosis allows chromosome pairs with the same genes, called homologous chromosomes, to exchange pieces in a process called recombination. This enables chromosome pieces from the female parent to combine with those of the male parent.

Stages of Meiosis

Meiosis I

Prophase I: DNA condensation occurs, the nuclear envelope and nuclei disappear, and the spindle starts to form

Metaphase I: tetrads line up at the equator

Anaphase I: Tetrads pull apart and chromosomes with two chromatids move towards the pole

Telophase I: Chromosomes with two chromatids decondense and a nuclear envelope forms around them

Meiosis II

Prophase II: Chromosomes with two chromatids line up at the equator

Metaphase II: Chromosomes with two chromatids lines up at the equator

Anaphase II: Chromosomes split, so that a chromosome with only with only one chromatid heads towards eat pole

Telophase II: Chromosomes with only one chromatid decondense and get surrounded by nuclear dense

Form of reproduction

Meiosis is a form of Sexual Reproduction. Mitosis is a form of asexual reproduction meaning one does not have to mate to reproduce because they reproduce their own species cellularly. The reproduction of meiosis are genetically different and the reproduction of mitosis are genetically the same because it is reproduced from only one set of chromosomes so therefore it stays the same.
Stages of Meiosis [HD Animation]