Follow Our Lead: Class of 2023

Sophomore News at your fingertips - November 2020

From Dr. Popoola - 10th Grade Administrative Support

Greetings Class of 2023 families!


We are now in week 4 of Face 2 Face Learning and while it has not being without its challenges, it has been truly great to see all of your smiling faces even though they are behind our masks!


Our school has decided to continue with simultaneous delivery of instruction to ensure the least amount of disruption to your schedule. We also began our Pride Time (remediation, clubs and extra-curricular) from 2:40pm - 3:30pm every Thursday.


This past Monday, we welcomed our new principal, Dr. Ethel Lett back to the Bulldog family! When you get a moment, please send her welcome greetings from the class of 2023!


We also welcomed Ms. Jade Borduin (World History) and Ms. Tara Benson (Biology) to the bulldog family.


Be reminded that masks are mandatory in all Fulton County schools. This is for everyone's safety!


In this edition:

1. Happy Birthday to our November Scholars

2. Information about 12-week progress report

3. Counseling Corner - National Scholarship Month

4. 10th Grade Homecoming Winners


Follow Our Lead! Class of 2023


Dr. Popoola

popoola@fultonschools.org

470-254-1828 - Office

404-964-8737 - Cell

12-Week Progress

Parents, our 12-week progress report will be available for your view on November 11th on Infinite Campus.
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

Connect with the Class of 2023

Counseling Corner - Ms. Moore

BULLDOGS!! I am elated at the level of commitment, dedication, and togetherness that was shown by the class of 2023 at this year's homecoming. Remember to always show your BULLDOG PRIDE, and thank you all for participating.

November is national Scholarship Month. It is never to early to start preparing to fund your post graduation plans. the following website has a ton of information and opportunities for you to start earning scholarships, grants, and other funds. https://www.scholarships.com/financial-aid/college-scholarships/scholarship-information/national-scholarship-month/

If you need assistance, I am always here to support you. Please keep in mind that we are all dealing with these uncertain times differently. Respect is Key!! If you are in need please reach out to me at moorea7@fultonschools.olrg or via phone at 470-473-8511, and If you are experiencing an emergency, please seek immediate assistance and/or call 911. Students can also text BULLDOGS to 1-844-201-9946.

As always class of 2023... Follow our Lead and Get like me!!

Big picture

Device Support

Big picture

10th Grade Support Team

Dr. Kemi Popoola - 10th Grade Assistant Principal

Ms. Brianna Moore - 10th Grade Counselor

Ms. C. Lawson - RTI Support (lawsoncw@fultonschools.org)

Ms. A. Winkles - Social Worker (winklesa@fultonschools.org)

Ms. E. Tyler - Social Worker (tyleres@fultonschools.org)

10th Grade Courses and Credit Requirements

Parents and students please pay close attention to the 10th grade course requirements. All of the courses listed below are graduation required classes and students can earn half a credit for each semester. Students must have at least 11 credits and passed all of the classes listed below to be on track for graduation. Students can earn up to 8 credits for the year (Core Content courses plus Elective Courses).
Big picture

10th Grade Content Teachers

10th Grade Literature and Composition

Ms. A. Addison - addison@fultonschools.org

Ms. A. Hawkins - hawkinsa1@fultonschools.org

Mr. D. Ingram - ingramD1@fultonschools.org

Ms. R. Hill - hillr2@fultonschools.org


Geometry

Mr. Z. Blindauer - blindauerz@fultonschools.org

Mr. A. Johnson - johnsona3@fultonschools.org

Ms. N. Owens - owensn@fultonschools.org

Ms. D. Robinson - robinsond5@fultonschools.org

Mr. B. Rock - rockb@fultonschools.org


Science

Ms. K. Bray - brayks@fultonschools.org

Ms. T. Benson - bensont21@fultonschools.org

Dr. M. Jones - jonesml12@fultonschoools.org

Ms. C. Nicolas - nicolas@fultonschools.org


Social Studies

Mr. S. Rase - rase@fultonschools.org

Ms. J. Borduin - borduinj@fultonschools.org

Mr. M. Buffins - buffinsma@fultonschools.org

Mr. J. Hopkins - hopkinsj@fultonschools.org

Ms. Rachel Hill - hillr2@fultonschools.org

Universal Remote Learning Discipline Letter

July 30, 2020

Dear Parents/Guardians and Students,

We very much look forward to the start of a new school year! As we prepare for our students returning to a Universal Remote Learning environment, we strongly encourage students and families review the 2020-2021 FCS STUDENT CODE OF CONDUCT HANDBOOK as there are several changes. It is important to know that behavioral expectations for students are still in place and apply in a Universal Remote Learning environment. Potential rule infractions in a virtual learning environment include, but are not limited to, harassment, bullying, cyber bullying, technology offenses, disruption and insubordination. Please note that code of conduct rule violations can also occur in the community or when using social media inappropriately. It is important that the school is notified of any student behaviors that negatively impact the school or virtual learning environment.

Furthermore, incidents of harassment, racial slurs, bigotry, derogatory comments, physical harassment, ethnically offensive behaviors or any threats of harm to others will not be tolerated and will be taken very seriously. Depending on the nature and severity of the offense, the District’s response may include disciplinary consequences up to and including long term suspension/expulsion from school.

Please note any behavior that violates the FCS STUDENT CODE OF CONDUCT HANDBOOK will be addressed through our district’s discipline process. Below are some potential discipline responses that will be utilized in the Universal Remote Learning environment include, but are not limited to, the following:

Parent Conference Suspension from synchronous learning

Restorative Practice Conference Loss of Privileges

Virtual Drug Education Program Impact Lesson or project

Suspension of club/extra-curricular activities Loss of Graduation Ceremony/Prom

Suspension upon return to school Long-term suspension/Expulsion

Please know that we are committed to ensuring that all our students feel safe and ready to learn and will be providing students guidance, resources and support. Thank you for your partnership in teaching our students behavioral expectations and standards of conduct while in a Virtual Learning Environment.

Please continue to be safe and as always, please do not hesitate to reach out with any questions or support.


Principal Ethel Lett