MJS Class of 2016

A Newsletter for All Things 8th Grade

Week of January 4, 2016

Big image

Follow Your Dreams- Class of 2016

Inspired by the words of Martin Luther King, Jr.'s famous "I have a dream" speech, each 8th grader has written their own version focusing on the change that they would like to make in the world. Students shared their speeches in class on Friday, December 18, and then chose a quote to add to our class mural. Please come see the finished Yellow Brick Road mural in the Hayden Building stairwell.
Big image

Our Talks are Finally Online!

Religion | Bailey Hobey | TEDxYouth@MJS
Growth Mindset | Kate Salembier | TEDxYouth@MJS
California Drought | Peter Evans | TEDxYouth@MJS

Curriculum Spotlight: Math!

Students graphed lines using the y-intercept form, and then used those lines as folding guidelines to make paper airplanes. Here is the result...

Requesting Parent Volunteers: January is Mosaic Month at MJS and we need you!

Mosaic Month is a beautiful celebration of the cultural diversity that exists in our community and we rely on our parent volunteers to help make it happen. The culminating event is the International Heritage Fair on Friday, January 29th. If you are interested in either creating a cultural table for the fair or in helping out behind the scenes, please contact Ms. Myvonwynn Hopton mhopton@mayfieldjs.org as soon as possible. Thank you!

Christmas Concert

Big image

8th Grade Reach Out: St. Francis Center

Student ambassadors to St. Francis Center on Tuesday, January 5th will be Gus M., Kati R., Frederick R., and Olivia P. For the complete schedule and more information on our Reach Out, please click here.


Thank you to Mrs. Dilbeck for your supervision of this Reach Out and to all of our parent drivers!

Big image

LET'S GO MUSTANGS!

Please come and support our Mayfield Mustangs! Here is what's coming up this week, for the complete season schedule, please visit the "MJS Athletics" page on the parent portal.


No games this week.


Have you followed us on Twitter yet? @MJSAthletics It's a great way to get up-to-date game results!

Grandparents' and Special Friends' Day is Coming Soon!

Please mark your calendars! It may seem early, but Mayfield’s annual Grandparents’ and Special Friends’ day is right around the corner. We look forward to welcoming the ones we love on February 12, 2016. This is a special tradition, a day when Grandparents or Special Family Friends join students on campus for Mass and classroom activities. To insure we get an invitation to your child's special guest, please fill out the form here if this is your first year at MJS (or there are changes to the addresses from last year's invitation mailing).


Thank you,
Nicole Dixon & Tina Yates

Things to Look Forward to...

  • Monday, January 4: School Resumes, Mosaic Month Begins
  • Saturday, January 9: ISEE Test at Mayfield
  • Wednesday, January 13: Hour of Code
  • Thursday, January 14: Cornelia Connelly Mass, 9am GYM
  • Monday, January 18: No School, Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • Friday, January 29: Mosaic Month Celebration
Big image

8th Grade Advisory Team

Pamela Danni, Team Leader and Director of Student Activities (pdanni@mayfieldjs.org)

Lisa Byrne, Advisor, Play Director, and Co-Team Leader (lbyrne@mayfieldjs.org)

Chris Goethals, Advisor and Secondary School Liaison (cgoethals@mayfieldjs.org)

Juan Garcia, Advisor and Student Council Leader (jgarcia@mayfieldjs.org)

Ruth Villarreal, Advisor and Athletics Director (rvillarreal@mayfieldjs.org)

To view last week's newsletter...