The Andes Mountain Region

Tierra Templada

Big image

Background Knowledge

The Andes mountains is the longest mountain chain in the world. It is located in South Africa. The Andes mountains has four regions. The Tierra Caliente, the Tierra Templada, the Terria Fria, and the Terria Helada.
Big image

Andes Animals

To survive in the Andes, animals have to be rugged, agile and be able to keep warm. One of the most well-known animal inhabitants of the Andes is the chinchilla. Their fur gets thicker in the colder, higher altitudes and their ability to jump and climb serves as a protection from predators. Other animals include llamas and alpacas; the Andean condor, the largest vulture in South America; and the vicuña, a member of the camel family.