MGM 7th Grade House News

September 21, 2018

Welcome!

Welcome to 7th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 7th-grade house highlights! These newsletters will be sent out every week on Friday!

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

Teacher Contact Information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.


Administration:

Dr. Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell -jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net


Counselor:

Davis Myers- dmyers@lexington1.net


House Leader

Amanda Hammill ahammill@lexington1.net


Content Area Teachers:

ELA

Andrea Roberts- aroberts@lexington1.net

Melanie Wells- mwells@lexington1.net

Joyce Perkins- jperkins@lexington1.net


Science

Taylor Fralick- tfralick@lexington1.net

Regan Moore- rwmoore@lexington1.net

Mary Harbaugh- mharbaugh@lexington1.net


Math

Bill Rogers- brogers@lexington1.net

Rebecca Fischer- rfischer@lexington1.net

Tammy Hardy- thardy@lexington1.net


Social Studies

Amanda Hammill- ahammill@lexington1.net

Derrick Price- dwprice@lexington1.net

Amanda Kerbis - akerbis@lexington1.net

Ben Jackson- bjackson@lexington1.net


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jennifer Mann - jmann@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE - Ben Anderson- rbanderson2@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

Math RTI - Trisha Hamilton - thamilton@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Dr. Todd Spaulding - tspaulding@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

PENDING BOARD APPROVAL: 7th Graders Trip to Washington, D.C.

Please use the links to find out more information on our pending Washington, D.C. trip. There is a sample itinerary and a student/parent interest form. Please complete the form if your child is interested in the trip and/or you are interested in being a parent chaperone.


Sample Itinerary

Student/Parent Interest Form

MGM Counseling Department

Follow the counseling center on Twitter @mgmcounseling for updates from our counselors!

MGM Serves First Responders

The CREW lessons scheduled for last week centered around the history of 9/11 and how we can honor our local first responders. As a leadership group, we decided to continue with these lessons as the timing of it will be a very authentic way to show our students how important first responders are to us and that we appreciate them.


As a component of these lessons and with the help of some first responders, we have compiled a list of useful supplies for the first responders in our community. This will be one of our service projects for this year to give back to the people that are so helpful during a time of crisis.


Click the supply list to see the suggested items. Please note that your contribution is not limited to the items on this list. This list is simply suggestions that will help first responders complete their jobs to the best of their ability. If you and your student can contribute have your student bring the items in to his/her CREW leader. We will be in CREW everyday the rest of this week as well as next week. These items will be distributed to 12 different local first responder groups in our community including law enforcement, EMTs/paramedics, and fire fighters.


Donations are being collected until October 1, 2018. Thank you.

7TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.
ELA: Monday, September 24: All ELA Classes will have a formative assessment on a discussion board post using text evidence discussing how culture, time and place impact the characters Nya and Salva in LWTW.


MATH: See Schoology


SCIENCE : Science will have a Summative assessment next week on Friday, September 28th. The test will cover atoms, elements, atomic models, the periodic table of elements, metals and nonmetals, chemical formulas, bonding and types of mixtures. A study guide will be available on Schoology.


SOCIAL STUDIES: Unit 1 Summative 9/21 and 9/24 (Hammill's classes 9/24 and 9/25)


WORLD LANGUAGES: Click here for a link to all WL updates.

PTO Updates

Sign up using the link below to receive emails from MGMS PTO. We will share information about our meetings, events, volunteer opportunities and more! Register Here Please contact us at mgmsptogators@gmail.com if you have any questions.

PTO FUNDRAISER

Big picture

Boys and Girls Basketball Pre-Workouts (see attached calendars)

Thank you for sharing your children with us each day! We are looking forward to another great year!