Hearings on Ferry Schedule

Cordova LIO Newsletter - 7/25/19 -Issue 32 -Vol 31.1

House Transportation Committee meets SATURDAY at 1:30 pm at the Cordova Center

Cordova residents are invited to testify at a special House Transportation Committee meeting this Saturday, July 27, beginning at 1:30 pm. Transportation Committee Chair Louise Stutes will be present and a few other committee members may also be present; many committee members will be listening via teleconference.


The subject is the draft winter schedule for the Alaska Marine Highway System. Currently, that draft schedule proposes NO ferry service from or to Cordova between Oct. 1, 2019 and April 30, 2020 (the summer schedule actually lists the last ferry into Cordova on Sept. 12, 2019).


It is unusual for a committee hearing to be held in one community.


Earlier this year, the Alaska Legislature debated the Governor's proposed $96 million cut to the marine highway system's budget. During those discussions, several scenarios for winter schedules (see slides 11 and 15) were reviewed by the Senate Transportation committee; all three scenarios included some winter service for Cordova. Instead of the $96 million cut, the Legislature adopted a budget that reduced the marine highway system's budget by $46 million.


For those unable to attend Saturday's meeting, written comments may be sent to the House Transportation Committee at htra@akleg.gov .

DOT teleconference is Monday afternoon; written comments due by Friday, July 26

The Department of Transportation is inviting statewide testimony on the draft winter schedule for ferry service. The DOT meeting is via teleconference MONDAY, July 29th, beginning at 1:30 pm, and written comments are due tomorrow, Friday, July 26th.


On Monday, you may call in from your own phone OR meet with a group of Cordovans who will be calling in from the Cordova Center (downstairs, Conference Rooms A & B).


The teleconference number to call is 1-515-604-9000, access code 279613.


If you're not able to attend Monday,

Written comments to DOT must be sent by FRIDAY, JULY 26th to:

dot.amhs.comments@alaska.gov or via fax: 907-228-6873


The draft winter schedule is posted online and currently proposes NO ferry service from or to Cordova between Oct. 1, 2019 and April 30, 2020. The summer schedule actually ends service to Cordova on Sept. 12, 2019.

Special Session update

Committee Substitute for House Bill 2003 is scheduled for its third reading and vote on the House Floor tomorrow, Friday, July 26th, beginning at 10 a.m. This bill appropriates the amount for this year's Permanent Fund Dividend.


House Floor sessions are broadcast live online through www.360north.org


Senate Bill 2002 is scheduled for a third and final vote on Monday, July 29th on the House Floor. This is the capital budget which will enable the state to receive $1 billion in Federal funds for highway and construction projects. It also includes "reverse sweep" language which impacts the Power Cost Equalization fund, scholarship and other funds.

E-mail addresses for legislators

REPRESENTATIVES and SENATORS (you may copy and paste from this list)

representative.louise.stutes@akleg.gov,
Representative.Tammie.Wilson@akleg.gov,
Representative.Bryce.Edgmon@akleg.gov,
Representative.Ben.Carpenter@akleg.gov,
Representative.Matt.Claman@akleg.gov,
Representative.Harriet.Drummond@akleg.gov,
Representative.David.Eastman@akleg.gov,
Representative.Zack.Fields@akleg.gov,
Representative.Neal.Foster@akleg.gov,
Representative.Sara.Hannan@akleg.gov,
Representative.Grier.Hopkins@akleg.gov,
Representative.Sharon.Jackson@akleg.gov,
Representative.Delena.Johnson@akleg.gov,
Representative.Jennifer.Johnston@akleg.gov,
Representative.Andy.Josephson@akleg.gov,
Representative.Gary.Knopp@akleg.gov,
Representative.Chuck.Kopp@akleg.gov,
Representative.Jonathan.Kreiss-Tomkins@akleg.gov,
Representative.Bart.LeBon@akleg.gov,
Representative.Gabrielle.LeDoux@akleg.gov,
Representative.John.Lincoln@akleg.gov,
Representative.Kelly.Merrick@akleg.gov,
Representative.Mark.Neuman@akleg.gov,
Representative.Dan.Ortiz@akleg.gov

Representative.Lance.Pruitt@akleg.gov,

Representative.Sara.Rasmussen@akleg.gov,
Representative.George.Rauscher@akleg.gov,
Representative.Josh.Revak@akleg.gov,
Representative.Laddie.Shaw@akleg.gov,
Representative.Ivy.Spohnholz@akleg.gov,
Representative.Andi.Story@akleg.gov,
Representative.Colleen.Sullivan-Leonard@akleg.gov,
Representative.Dave.Talerico@akleg.gov,
Representative.Geran.Tarr@akleg.gov,
Representative.Steve.Thompson@akleg.gov,
Representative.Cathy.Tilton@akleg.gov,
Representative.Chris.Tuck@akleg.gov,
Representative.Sarah.Vance@akleg.gov,
Representative.Adam.Wool@akleg.gov,
Representative.Tiffany.Zulkosky@akleg.gov

senator.gary.stevens@akleg.gov,

senator.bill.wielechowski@akleg.gov,

senator.Tom.Begich@akleg.gov,

Senator.Mia.Costello@akleg.gov,
Senator.Peter.Micciche@akleg.gov,
Senator.Natasha.vonimhof@akleg.gov,
Senator.Cathy.Giessel@akleg.gov,
Senator.Elvi.Gray-Jackson@akleg.gov,
Senator.Chris.Birch@akleg.gov,
Senator.Click.Bishop@akleg.gov,
Senator.John.Coghill@akleg.gov,
Senator.Lyman.Hoffman@akleg.gov,
Senator.Shelley.Hughes@akleg.gov,
Senator.Scott.Kawasaki@akleg.gov,
Senator.Jesse.Kiehl@akleg.gov,
Senator.Donny.Olson@akleg.gov,
Senator.Lora.Reinbold@akleg.gov,
Senator.Mike.Shower@akleg.gov,
Senator.Bert.Stedman@akleg.gov,
Senator.David.Wilson@akleg.gov

Senator Gary Stevens

Senator Stevens is serving as Chair of the Legislative Council. He is also Chair of the Senate Education Committee, and is a member of the Senate Health & Social Services Committee. Additionally, he serves on the Finance Subcommittees for the University of Alaska,, Judiciary, and Education & Early Development.

Biographic

Current mailing address:

305 Center Ave, STE 1

Kodiak, AK 99615

Phone: 907-465-4925 in Juneau, or 907-486-4925 in Kodiak

Toll-Free: (800) 821-4925

E-mail: Senator.Gary.Stevens@akleg.gov

Representative Louise Stutes

Representative Stutes is the Majority Whip. She is Co-Chair of the Transportation Committee, and is Chair of the Fisheries Committees. She also serves on the Rules, Judiciary, and Labor & Commerce Committees.

Biographic

Current Mailing Address:

305 Center Avenue, Suite 1

Kodiak, AK 99615

Phone: 907-465-2487 in Juneau, or 907-486-8872 in Kodiak

Toll-Free: (800) 486-5264

E-mail: Representative.Louise.Stutes@akleg.gov
Share your views with the Governor

Instead of email, Governor Michael Dunleavy's office provides a web-based form to send him your viewpoints. Click on this button to go to that form.

Contact Information for Legislators and Committees

The Publications page of the Alaska Legislature's website includes several documents of interest when you wish to telephone or email legislators.


Legislator Contact List (PDF)
Committees and Members (PDF)
Legislators by District (PDF)
Legislator Photo Sheet (PDF)

Session Contact List (PDF)

Legislative Address Labels (docx) (Session)
Legislator Address Mail Merge (xls) (Session)
Legislator Email Address List (xls)
Committee E-mail Address List (xls)


You may also call the Cordova LIO, 424-5461, for this information to be emailed to you.

Alaska State Legislature

Click the button to visit the Legislature's website

About the Cordova LIO

Our mission is to facilitate communication between the Legislature and the public. We are non-partisan, serve the entire Alaska State Legislature, and provide teleconferencing services for citizens to participate in the legislative process. We can also assist with other state agency and some federal agency issues.


Office Hours: The Cordova LIO will open on a part-time basis, from 1-3 pm July 8 - 12. We may also open for special appointments; call 424-5461 to request an appointment. Phone and email messages are being monitored.The office will re-open on a regular basis in December 2019.

Senator Lisa Murkowski

Click the button to visit the Senator's website

Senator Dan Sullivan

Click the button to visit the Senator's website

Congressman Don Young

Click the button to visit the Congressman's website