Colonial Advertisement Project

By Meghan Carey

Massachusetts Bay Colony

The Massachusetts Bay Colony was one of the English's New England Colonies existing from 1630 until 1776. In 1776, the colony rebelled against England and became the state of Massachusetts. The first settlement of Massachusetts Colony was at Plymouth, where pilgrims from England took the Mayflower in order to settle the area.
Geography: The Massachusetts Bay Colony is located on the Atlantic Coast of North America. Even though the thick mountains of New England creates difficulty for farming, it does have major access to the coast, which creates fishing and trading opportunities.

Colony: The colony consists of the cities known as Boston, Quincy, Plymouth, Salem, Lexington, and Concorde.

Religion: The Puritans who conquered the colony only prefer the belief in the pure Christian Church.

Government: The colony is governed as a royal province, while operating under a charter.

Trade: The Massachusetts Bay Colony's main trading exports are fish, timber, furs, ships, and livestock.

Major Events

  • The Massachusetts Bay Colony was founded in 1630 by John Winthrop and other colonists.
  • The Battle of Lexington and The Battle of Concorde are two famous battles that took place in the colony.
  • Although New England is the coldest of the three regions, the colder winters mean that there are less diseases to be spread than in the warmer areas.

Key People

John Winthrop:

He is a Puritan leader who became the first Governor of the colony.

Johnathan Edwards:

His is a New England preacher who had powerful sermons, which helped set off the Great Awakening.


He is from a Native American tribe who helped the pilgrims with their farming techniques, which eventually led to the first Thanksgiving.