Executive Branch

Infographic by: Mary and Shi

What is the Executive Branch????

The executive branch of our Government is in charge of making sure that the laws of the United States are obeyed.

Who is the Vice President????

If the President dies, next in line is the Vice President. If he dies, it goes to the Speaker of the House, then the President pro tempore of the Senate, Secretary of State, Secretary of the Treasury, Secretary of Defense.

Being Vice President means you’re also president of the Senate, and basically the “president in waiting”.

Facts about Vice President:

Members of the President’s cabinet

The member of the cabinet are the secretaries from the 15 executive branch departments. The cabinet runs major federal agencies and advise the President on any issue that falls under their personal/departmental responsibilities

Big image

National Security Council

The NSC’s duty is to advise President on national security concerns, actions and issues. It is made up of Secretary of State, Secretary of Defense, Secretary of the Treasury, VP, head of the CIA, chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff, President’s Chief of Staff

Big image

Office of Management and Budget

The Office of Management and Budget assists the President and helps prepare the annual federal budget and to oversee the people working on it via executive branch agencies.

Big image

White House Staff

The Chief of Staff acts out all the decisions, personally decides many policies alongside the President. The Press Secretary is the president spokesperson for the media and to the people. The White House Staff Members are there to help and advice the president on things he needs help with.

Big image

Agencies within the Cabinet Departments

Each department governs major areas of federal interest. The Justice Department handles the nation’s legal affairs. The Interior Department deals with natural resources. The Defense Department protects America. And the Treasury Department manages America’s money.

Big image

Independent Agencies

The federal bureaucracy includes over 100 independent organizations, that operate like any company and provide specialized services to the President and country. Some are NASA, which runs the nation’s space program and the U.S. Postal Service which is responsible for collection, transportation and delivery of mail

Big image

Regulatory Commissions

10 organizations were created to be independent from presidential and political party involvement. They keep politics out of their operations, and commissioners are appointed by the President and confirmed by the Senate. Some organizations are Federal Communications Commissions which regulate radio, television and phone industries and the Nuclear Regulatory Commission which licenses and regulates non-military nuclear facilities

Big image