Chapter 29 Project

Lizbeth Triana

Consumer Bill of Rights

The Consumer Bill of Rights was proposed by President John F. Kennedy in 1962 and is one of the most important steps in the direction of consumer protection. It was later expanded by Presidents Nixon and Ford. The 6 rights are as follows:

1. The Right to Safety is the protection against products that are hazardous to life or health.

2. The Right to Be Informed is the protection against fraudulent, deceitful, or grossly misleading practices and assurance of receiving facts necessary to make informed choices.

3. The RIght to Choose is access to a variety of quality products and services offered at competitive prices.

4. The Right to Be Heard is the assurance of representation of consumer interests in formulating government policy and of fair and prompt treatment in enforcement of laws.

5. The Right to Redress is the assurance that buyers have ways to register their dissatisfaction and receive compensation for valid complaints.

6. The Right to Consumer Education is the assurance that consumers have the necessary assistance to plan and use their resources to maximum potential.

Patients' Bill of Rights

Abuses in managed care and other related institutions created the need for the Patients' Bill of Rights. Patients have the following rights:

1. In Information Disclosure, patients have the right to receive accurate, easily understood information to make informed health care decisions.

2. In the Choice of Providers, patients have the right to choose their own doctors and other health care providers.

3. With Access to Emergency Services, patients have the right to access health care services how and where the need arises. A health plan must pay for costs that a prudent person would reasonably expect the plan to cover it.

4. In Treatment Decisions, patients have the right to fully participate in all decisions related to their health care.

5. With Respect and Nondiscrimination, consumers have the right to considerate, respectful care from all members of the health care system at all times.

6. With Confidentiality, consumers have the right to have the confidentiality of their individually identifiable health care information protected and to review and copy their own records and amend those records.

3 Consumer Protection Laws

3 Federal Agencies as Sources of Consumer Protection

The CPSC (Consumer Product Safety Commission) protects consumers from unreasonable risk of injury or death from potentially hazardous consumer products.

The FAA (Federal Aviation Administration) is an agency that controls air traffic and certifies aircraft, airports, pilots, and other personnel. It also writes and enforces air safety regulations and air traffic procedures.

The SEC (Securities and Exchange Commission) is to protect investors and maintain the integrity of the securities markets.