By Eilidh


Australia's formal name is the commonwealth of Australia.

The form of government used in Australia is a

constitutional monarchy-'constitutional' because the powers and procedures of the Australian government are defined by a written constitution,and'monarchy' because Australia's head of state is Queen Elizabeth II

Big image

History of federation

In 1860 there was 6 british colonies in Australia.

At first the colonies didn't comunicate with each other that much.

But in 1872 telegraph linked the colonies together and the idea of becoming a country, Australia was celebrated in songs and poems. By the 1890's the idea of federation was one that lots of people agreed to.

the Population

In Australia there is one birth every 1 minute and 42 seconds.

There is one death every 3 minutes and 36 seconds.

There is one person coming to australia from a different country every 2 minutes and 9 seconds.

So there is one more person in Australia every 1 minute and 17 seconds.

The population right now in Australia on the 8th of may 2014 12:44 is 23,481,710.

Australian prime ministers

The three arms of the Austrlian government

The Australian Government was established by the Australian Constitution. It is Divided into three arms:




Big image

Australian constitution

The Austalian constitution is a set of rules by which Australia is run. people started using it in 1901. It has been important to Australia ever since.

The NSW Premier

The NSW Premier is the head of government in NSW.

Barry O'farrel is the current NSW premier.

Big image


parliament is the centre form of democracy.

the task parliament is seeking solution, adopting law and keeping tabs on the government.


The senate is one of the two houses of the australian federal parliament.

It consists of 76 senaters, 12 from each state and 2 from each territory.

To make a law the prime minister needs to decide on the law and then the senators vote for the law to become a law before the governor general signs the law to make it a law. At least half of the senators need to vote for the law for it to be sent to the governor general.

Big image

The House of Representatives

The house of representatives is one of the two houses of Australia's commonwealth parliament. There are 150 representatives elected each year. The government is formed in the house of repesentatives.


The government is selected by the Australian people. There is an election for the government every three years.

Political parties

A Political party is an organisation that represents particular group of people or set of ideas. It aims to have members elected to parliament so their ideas will effect the way Australia is governed. Two of the biggest parties in Australia are the liberal party of Australia and the Australian labour party.

Local council

A local council is the council that is nearest you, Our local council is the Sutherland shire council. The Sutherland shire council is the 2nd largest council in NSW and the 8th largest in Australia.