Gray Wolf Gazette

Parent Edition MAY 2016

Our Mission

Creating a community of learners where students' are actively engaged to reach their full potential and display positive character.


Character Trait for May: FORGIVING

NIKKI CAREL 2016 JCPS TEACHER OF THE YEAR!

Watch Nikki as they called her name as Teacher of the Year!

Kim Harrison, Finalist, Teacher of the Year

Carolyn Case, Second Grade Teacher, Retiring

Big image
Wolf Pack Week Events May 2-6

Teacher Appreciation Week Celebrations

Calendar of Events

Friday, April 29

8:30 - April Awards Assembly

Monday, May 2

6:00 - PTO, Salad Dinner, Commons

Tuesday, May 3

4th Grade Field Trip

Wednesday, May 4

MAP Testing Ends

Friday, May 6

Hat Day, bring $1

Saturday, May 7

Little Olympics Grades 4/5 Boys and Girls

Sunday, May 8

Mother's Day

Friday, May 13

May Awards Assembly, 8:30

Safety Patrol Picnic

Monday, May 16

Staff vs 5th grade Kickball Game, 1:45

Carolyn Case Retirement Celebration, Library, 3:30

Tuesday, May 17

Field Day

Wednesday, May 18

5th Grade Promotion Practice, gym, 8:30

5th Grade Promotion Party, all day

5th Grade Promotion, Miller Center, 6:30

Thursday, May 19

12:05 Dismissal

Grade Cards Go Home

Have a Happy Summer!

Building Changes for 2016-17

There will be a fifth section added for Kindergarten, First and Second Grades. This will greatly reduce class sizes for 2016-17. A trailer is being placed on the playground to accommodate additional classroom space. We will be hiring additional teachers for these classrooms.

Library will be considered part of the "specials" classes next year, along with Art, PE, and Music. This will also reduce the number of students in specials classes.

Carolyn Case, second grade, is retiring, and Debbie Ferguson, second grade, is moving and will not be returning. Stephanie Kampeter, fifth grade teacher, will be taking one of the second grade positions for next year.

Scott Salmons, Assistant Principal, will be staying with Pioneer Trail next year.