HJHS Weekend Update

January 17, 2016

Big image
Big image

Making the Most of Every Minute!

Greetings on this very cold Martin Luther King, Jr. Day. As I read and listened to the tributes to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. this morning, I was, once again, overwhelmed by his passion for what is right. As educators his words remind us that our job is more significant that test scores! He spoke often about the importance of education and equity for all students. "The function of education is to think intensively and to think critically. Intelligence plus character - that is the goal of true education." - Martin Luther King, Jr. So I challenge you this week, make every minute count so that we provide our community with students who can demonstrate their intelligence and their character.


Whether you are embedding high impact strategies or refining what has been working for your students, the important thing is that every child is learning! Rote memorization and compliance is a first step, not a goal for the type of education Dr. King wanted for our children. It is critical that EVERY MINUTE COUNT! We have about 75 days to have every student ready to move forward!


Thanks for all you do to help ALL of our students grow!!

Stephanie

I have included a link below that includes some details of Hattie's Research that we have been working on the last two weeks. Absolutely not required reading but for those of you who are interested - it is very interesting! If you are considering shifting some practices, this might provide you some good insights.

Upcoming Events and Notes for this week at HJHS!

LESSON PLANS SHOULD BE POSTED IN EDMODO!


Tuesday, January 19: Basketball HJHS vs. McNair 3:30 (Away)


Wednesday, January 20: Department Meetings During Common Planning; PST after school; Recognition of 2nd nine weeks perfect attendance (ice cream during lunch): PBIS celebrations!


Thursday, January 21: Intruder Drill in the morning; Recognition of 2nd nine weeks All A/B Honor Roll Students (Dippin' Dots during lunch); Basketball HJHS vs. Hampton Cove 3:30 (Home)


Friday, January 22: 2nd Nine Weeks All As Honors Lunch during 5th Period.


Monday, January 25: SMALL LAB training during your planning period; Fire Drill Weather Permitting

PBIS SUCCESS!

Overall we have seen an improvement in behavior in the hallways with the implementation of our HJHS Pride plan! It is a long term implementation! I encourage everyone to find time everyday to review our plan and WHY it is important. At this point, start focusing on the "PRIDE" words! To remember what we've learned, we need to commit information to our long term memory.


Key Points to Committing Learning to Long-Term Memory :

"A great way of doing this is by reviewing information regularly. To review information, revisit learning material straight after you've learned it, using an effective readiing strategy. Also, write notes about what you've learned using tools such as Mind Maps, and then review this information one day, one week, and one month later" (Mindtools.com).


Ultimately, if we do not provide them opportunity to revisit what we taught the first week of January, then likely it will be lost instruction with no learning and no changes in behavior. Let's keep our momentum on building the positive behaviors and character traits we want to see in all our kids! Don't stop because a hand-full of students are not buying in to the process!



Thanks to the teachers who have served on our PBIS team: Kwesi Jackson, Stacy Jamison, Ashley Paludan, Tracy Sears, & Calandra Williams. They have done an amazing job in a very short period of time!

Wednesday Department Meeting Schedule

1st Period: Leadership Team (Barnes/Lott cover Archer's Class; Stamps cover both intervention classes; Substitutes will cover the rest)

2nd Period: ELA (Subs will cover Smith and Marshall)

3rd Period: Math (Sub will cover Woltjen)

4th Period: Science (Subs will cover Barnes and Lott - eat after meeting)

6th Period: Social Studies (Sub will cover Marshall)

DEADLINES AND DATES TO REMEMBER!

UPCOMING DATES TO REMEMBER

  • Monday, January 18: Martin Luther King Jr. Day (no school students/faculty)
  • Tuesday, January 19: HJHS vs. McNair 3:30 (away)

  • Wednesday, January 20: PST Meetings 3:30 - 5:00

  • Thursday, January 21: HJHS vs. HCMS (home)

  • Wednesday, January 27: PLC Meetings

  • Friday, January 29: Half Day Students/Half Day PD for Faculty

  • February 1 - April 1: ACCESS for ELLs and Alternate ACCESS for ELLs

  • Wednesday, February 3: Faculty Meeting

  • Monday, February 8: 3rd Nine Weeks Progress Reports Go Home
  • Monday, February 8: Tuesday, February 9: Choir State Solo & Ensemble Festival

  • Wednesday, February 10: PST meetings after school

  • Wednesday, February 17: Faculty Meeting/Equity Training

  • Wednesday, February 24: PLC Meetings

  • February 29 - March 4: SchoolNet Benchmark Assessments

  • Thursday, March 3 - Friday, March 4: State Choral Festival

  • Wednesday, March 2: Faculty Meeting

  • Friday, March 4: End of the 3rd Nine Weeks
  • Wednesday, March 9: PST meetings after school

  • Monday, March 14: 3rd Nine Weeks Report Cards Go Home.
  • Wednesday, March 16: Faculty Meeting/ARI
  • Wednesday, March 30: PLC Meetings
  • Monday, April 4 - Tuesday, April 5: State Choral Performance Assessment

  • Wednesday, April 6: PST Meetings

  • Wednesday, April 13: Faculty Meeting

  • Thursday, April 14 - Sunday, April 17: Advanced Choir Trip to New York

  • Monday, April 18: 4th Nine Weeks Progress Reports Go Home
  • April 18 - 27: STAR Spring Benchmark

  • Wednesday, April 20: PST meetings after school

  • Wednesday, April 27: Faculty Meeting/Test Security

  • April 28 - May 13: ACT End of Course Tests (Algebra I and Geometry)

  • May 2 - 13: ACT Aspire

  • Wednesday, May 4: Faculty Meeting

  • Wednesday, May 11: PST meetings after school - End of the Year