Legislative Branch

Louisiana State Government

The Louisiana Legislature

Louisiana's legislative branch consists of 2 houses, the House of representatives, and the Senate. The house has 105 members and the senate has 39 members. They are all elected to 4 year terms. They usually meet in the state capitol, located in Baton Rouge. The Louisiana legislative branch makes the laws for the state.

Rules and powers

The legislative branch has a certain set of qualifications someone must meet in order to be elected. The candidates must be at least 18 years of age, be a louisiana resident for at least 2 years, a resident of the legislative district for one year, and are limited to 3 consecutive terms. They have 4 year terms and take office the same day as other officials. Each house picks their own leaders, or officials. The senate chooses the president of the senate, and the House chooses the speaker of the house.

Passage of Bills

The legislature has a special session where they pass laws by voting on them. They can also propose constitutional amendments during the same sessions. Each bill must be heard in the chamber 3 times in 3 different sessions. This is called the "Three Readings" rule.


The legislative branch also has the power to control how the state spends its tax money and in what areas. This is also known as appropriation. They have to come up with a new budget every year.

Local and special laws

Th legislature is restricted from passing certain bills. These restrictions include: any bill legislating the conduct of elections, changing the names of people, anything concerning civil or criminal court cases, anything authorizing roadway construction, exempting property from taxation or penalty, regulating labor, trade, manufacturing, or agriculture, giving special privileges to private corporations, regulations or funding on public schools, legalizing any unauthorized actions of any state worker, defining any crime, and indirectly passing these local and special laws.

Signing of Bills

A bill passed by both houses must be signed by the officers of the house. IT is then delivered to the governor within 3 days of the passage. However, special committees, such as joint, concurrent, or others do not require any action or passing from the Governor to become effective.