U.S. Branches of Government

by Tessa Mitchell

What Do The Three Branches of Government Do?

The Legislative Branch is also known as Congress. Congress creates the laws. Though before the law gets passed by the president it is called a bill. Once Congress creates a bill, the bill gets sent to the Executive Branch where the president works. Then the president looks over the bill. If the president does not agree with the bill he can veto. If the president vetoes, the bill gets sent back to the Legislative Branch. But the Legislative Branch can overide, when you overide you're basically saying, " We think this bill is fine the way it is." or, "We don't think we need to change this bill at all." But if the president agrees with the bill, It'll become a law, but it won't be shown to the world. Then, he'll send it to the Judicial Branch. The Judicial Branch is made up of courts. The main court of the Judicial Branch is the Supreme Court. The nine judges in the Supreme Court are called the justices. Next the nine justices decide if the law goes against the constitution or not. If the Judicial Branch says that it doesn't go against the constitution then it gets shown to the world and it officially becomes a law.



My World: Social Studies-book