Ventana Vistas

January 6th - 12th, 2021

Big picture

Welcome Back!

We hope you enjoyed some rest and relaxation over the holiday break! We continue to be diligent with our mitigation strategies to work to keep our staff and students safe..


Thank you for all of the kind messages of support and encouragement for the work we do. Those messages are read to staff during meetings, so keep sending them and know they are greatly appreciated and keep us energized.

Quick Reminder from Ms. Fouts

Big picture
Big picture

Our students harvested some leafy greens in the garden today!

Big picture

Playing a letter/sound identification game with a friend can be safe!

Big picture

Second grade scientists exploring the question, "Why do we have night and day?"

Big picture

K-1 and 3-5 CogAt Testing

Please note that placement in our District's gifted offering of Extended Reading or Math groups in K-2 does not require CogAT scores, as classroom performance tends to be a more reliable indicator of instructional need than cognitive ability at the primary grades. These services are provided by the classroom or grade level teachers, rather than the gifted specialist, at these grades.

Placement into our pull-out Interdisciplinary Studies (IDS) program begins in 3rd grade, and regardless of whether students take the CogAT in primary grades, they must retest to qualify for pull-out again in 3rd grade. For that reason, many parents of K-2 students opt NOT to have their child take the CogAT at this time.

Students should arrive in the front parking lot between 7:00-7:05. This will allow for our testing sessions to begin on time. Pick-up after testing will be between 8:05-8:15. Please contact your school's gifted specialist (Mr. Green tgreen@cfsd16.org) for additional program specifics.

FFO Corner

Mark your calendar! Ms. Fouts' ARTy pARTy classes will resume next week.

Big picture

Governing Board Members

Amy Krauss, President

akrauss@cfsd16.org


Carole Siegler, Vice President

csiegler@cfsd16.org


Amy Bhola, Board Member

abhola@cfsd16.org


Doug Hadley, Board Member

dhadley@cfsd16.org


Eileen Jackson, Board Member

ejackson@cfsd16.org


Mary Kamerzell, Superintendent

mkam@cfsd16.org