The Komodo Dragon

Varanus komodoensis

Classification of Komodo Dragon

Domain: Eukaryote -

Cells that contain a nucleus

Kingdom: Animalia -

Multicellular, eukaryotes, that are heterotrophs that usually depend on other organisms directly or indirectly for food.

Phylum: Chordata -

Animals possessing a notochord, a hollow dorsal nerve cord, pharyngeal slits, an endostyle, and a post-anal tail.

Class: Reptilia-

Tetrapod animals, they include vertebrates, scales, and are cold blooded.

Order: Squamata -

Squamata, or the scaled reptiles, are the largest recent order of reptiles, comprising all lizards and snakes.

Family: Varanidae -

Group of carnivorous and frugivorous lizards

Genus: Varanus -

The monitor lizard, they have long necks, powerful tails and class, and well-developed limbs.

Species: Varanus Komodoensis

Species Common Name: Komodo Dragon

Komodo Dragon IUCN Status

The Komodo Dragon is currently considered "vulnerable". That means the Komodo Dragon is on the verge of becoming an endangered species.

The Komodo Dragon Size

The Komodo Dragons reach to about 10 feet (3 meters) in length and more than 300 punts (136 kilograms)

The Komodo Dragons Biome and Niche

The Komodo Dragon lives in a Tropical Dry Forest Biome
Big image
Big image