Trix Family News

September 30th, 2021

Big picture

Message from the Principal

Dear TRIX Families,


The countdown to COUNT DAY has started! Count day is next Wednesday, October 6th. Please partner with us and make sure your scholar is on time and in attendance on this very important day. Attendance is crucial everyday, but next Wednesday, October 6th is critical to secure funding for our scholars. See below for all of the scholar and family incentives that we have planned for that day. Don't miss out on the fun!


NWEA Testing is also scheduled for the week of October 4th and October 11th. See below for the schedule. Your scholar will take the MAP test in both Reading and Mathematics on a computer. MAP growth scores help our teachers check scholar performance by measuring achievement and growth. We will use the results from this test to tailor classroom lessons and set goals for your scholar. We will test your scholar 3x a year in the Fall, Winter and Spring. The test is unique, as it adapts your scholars response to measure your scholars skill level. If your scholar answers a question correctly, the next question is more challenging. If they answer incorrectly, the next one is easier. These results provide a more complete picture of what your scholar knows and is ready to learn. We are truly excited to focus on your scholars individual growth and achievement. For more information about the test please visit NWEA.org/familytoolkit.


Please sign into Kickboard to receive classroom updates and announcements from your scholars teacher. This is our two way communication tool to keep you updated on all the exciting things happening in the classroom! In addition, your feedback is important to us, see below for a short parent survey so we can continue to serve you and your scholars the very best.


In partnership with you,


Kiran Rai

Principal

k.rai@mecc-academies.org

COUNT DOWN TO COUNT DAY!

Big picture

NWEA Testing Schedule

Week of October 4th: Reading

October 5th: Kinder-2nd grade

October 6th: 3rd-5th grade

October 7th: Middle School


Week of October 11th: Math

October 12th: Kinder-2nd grade

October 13th: 3rd-5th grade

October 14th: Middle School

KICKBOARD

Kickboard: Parent Access Codes

Kickboard parent access codes have been sent out by teachers. If you do not receive your access code please reach out to your scholars teacher or email Ms. Hayes at p.hayes@mecc-academies.org. It is very important to receive your access code because this will help you stay connected to your scholars behavioral decisions while being part of the learning environment as well as receive school announcements. Kickboard has a mobile friendly app that can be downloaded. Instructions are included with the access codes families will receive.

FEEDBACK WANTED!

Calling all parents! We want to hear from you. Please take this two-minute parent survey and give us your feedback. Help us make TRIX the absolute best for you and our scholars. Survey closes Monday, Oct. 4th. Click the link to get started https://phalen.info/ParentSurvey

Facts About Attendance

Trix Academy is continuing to help all of our scholars participate in the learning process on a consistent basis. Based on data, there are certain patterns that exist for children who are chronically absent from school.


  • By 6th grade, chronic absence becomes a leading indicator that a student will drop out of high school.

  • Poor attendance can influence whether children read proficiently by the end of third grade or be held back.


It is important for your scholar to come to school everyday and on time. Receiving first hand instruction on a consistent basis is very important to the learning process. Please partner with us to make every day counts!

STAFF EMAIL ADDRESSES

Leadership

Kiran Rai , Principal - k.rai@mecc-academies.org

Sheilene Smith, Operations Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org

Tyresha Robinson, Student Enrollment Coordinator - trobinson1@phalenacademies.org

Kenyatta Manley, Office Manager - k.manley@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Laura Green, Instructional Specialist - lgreen@phalenacademies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org

Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Patrice Nelson, Teacher - p.nelson@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org

Simone Clark, Teacher s.clark@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Lakesha Williams, Teacher - L.Williams@mecc-academies.org

Josef McKinney, Teacher - j.mckinney@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Stephanie Stamas, Teacher - s.stamas@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org

Dwight Walls, Teacher - d.walls@mecc-academies.org


Fifth Grade

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org

Grace Munoz, Teacher - g.munoz@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Pantel Tzavellas, Social Studies Teacher - p.tzavellas@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, SEL Support/Teacher - a.keys@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Art Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Technology Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Physical Education Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org


Reading Intervention

Atica Bell, Teacher - a.bell@mecc-academies.org

Matthew Bowman, Teacher - m.bowman@mecc-academies.org

Toiya Davis, Teacher - t.paige@mecc-academies.org

Nicolas Wolak, Teacher - n.wolak@mecc-academies.org

Big picture

Have Questions? Contact Us!

At Trix, all of our students are scholars. Our scholars learn robotics and coding; and they participate in daily enrichment courses in arts and humanities. Join us as we help to fuel our students’ dreams with: data driven instruction, brand new state- of-the art technology, and exceptional teachers who truly care about their success.