@ the library

west lafayette jr/sr high

Tell us what you want!

We want to make the library even better for you! If you haven't already taken the library survey as part of an English class, please click here and tell us about your vision for the library. We appreciate your thoughtful comments and constructive criticism.

Library Lunch Closings

If you've tried to stop by the library just to find out that it's closed during lunch time, we apologize! A lot of classes have research projects going on right now, and we can't accommodate both an entire class and a lunch crowd. In an effort to provide you with a place to study and access to computers and printers, we will try to make a computer lab available during lunchtime whenever the library closes. Read the sign outside the library so you will know which lab is open. Sorry for the inconvenience!

Did you know?

Big image
Want to know more? Check out this mental_floss video featuring John Green:
42 Idiom Origins - mental_floss on YouTube (Ep. 29)

New books available now

Big image
A new YA novel from novelist Patrick Ness, author of the Carnegie Medal- and Kate Greenaway Medal-winning A Monster Calls and the critically acclaimed Chaos Walking trilogy, The Rest of Us Just Live Here is a bold and irreverent novel that powerfully reminds us that there are many different types of remarkable. What if you aren't the Chosen One? The one who's supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death? What if you're like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again. Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week's end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life. Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.
Big image

For fans of Stephen King, Neil Gaiman, American Horror Story and The Walking Dead comes a powerhouse anthology featuring some of the best thriller and horror writers in YA A host of the sharpest young adult authors come together in this collection of terrifying tales and psychological thrillers. Each author draws from a mix of literature, film, television, and music to create something new and fresh and unsettling. Clever readers will love teasing out the references and can satisfy their curiosity at the end of each tale, where the inspiration is revealed. There are no superficial scares here; these are stories that will make you think even as they keep you on the edge of your seat. From blood horror, to the supernatural, to unsettling, all-too-possible realism, this collection has something for anyone looking for an absolute thrill.

Big image
An enthralling adventure set in a strange world on the high seas. Petrel is an outcast on the ancient ship, an icebreaker, that has been following the same course for 300 years. In that time, the ship's crew has forgotten its original purpose and broken into three warring tribes. Everyone has a tribe except Petrol. Nicknamed the Nothing Girl, Petrel has been ostracized ever since her parents were thrown overboard as punishment for a terrible crime. But Petrel is a survivor. She lives in the ship's darkest corners, and trusts no one except two large gray rats - that is, until a mysterious boy is discovered barely alive on an iceberg, and brought onto the ship. He claims to have forgotten even his name. The tribes don't trust strangers, so Petrel hides the boy, hoping he will be her friend. What she doesn't know is that the ship guards a secret - a secret the boy has been sent to destroy.

Thanks for Reading! - Ms. Hinman