Federal Court System

Module 6 Lesson One Practice Activity

The Different Levels of The Federal Court System

-District Courts: Federal Courts where trails are held and lawsuits begin, there are 94 courts. All the states have 1 and some of the larger states have 2 or 3.

- Courts of Appeals: It is the next highest level after the district courts, people go here after they lose in the district courts.

- A 13th appeals court, the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. They have judges who make decisions in 3 different ways; upholding the decision, reversing the decision, and remanding the case.

Responsibilities at Each Level of The Federal Court System

-District courts hear both civil and criminal cases.

- Appeals courts review decisions made in lower district courts. Each of the 12 courts of appeals cover a particular circuit.

-Appeals courts for the Federal Circuit do not hold trials. They have a panel of judges who review case records and listen to arguments from lawyers on opposing sides.

Types of Jurisdiction

-Original Jurisdiction: District courts have this for all federal cases. It is the authority to hear the case for the 1st time.

-Appellate Jurisdiction: The courts of appeals have this jurisdiction, they have the authority to hear a case appealed from a lower court.

-Nationwide Jurisdiction: A nation possesses supreme authority, or sovereignty over all territory, things, and persons within its boundaries.