Deretchin Digest

A Communication Tool for The Dragon Family and Community

Week of April 6-9 - Online Education Newsletter

A WORD FROM DR. REEVES...

April 5, 2020

This week you will either receive a Sign Up Genius or a "Blocked" phone call from your child's teacher asking you to sign up for a Spring Conference. This phone call will stand as your child's 4th nine weeks progress report. I have instructed teachers to call as a "blocked call" at this time because they are calling from their home phone. If you have any questions, please reach out to your child's teacher and they will help you.


Just a quick reminder -- while our school is now closed until May 4th, we will be answering phones remotely. Please call 832-592-8700 and Mrs. O will take a message and get it to the person who needs to call you back. If you call directly to someone's phone line, it may not be answered as quickly. Additionally, we will have a generic email address for your questions that will be monitored from 8:00-3:00 each day. If you have an academic question, please email your child's teacher or the teacher who is on office hours. If you have a system type questions, you can email the generic email address at contactderetchin@conroeisd.net.


Thank you for the support that you've shown our teachers and staff. We are BLESSED to serve the Deretchin Family each day. Stay Safe Dragons. -- Dr. Reeves

Big picture
Big picture

This week, if you have extra time with your family, we encourage you to have your children fill out a Coronavirus Time Capsule. Years from now, children will be looking back at this time and discussing with their families the events that are currently taking place. Have your child fill out the following time capsule so they can share with their family what they were experiencing during this time.

Big picture

Even though we can't be together, we can still show our Dragon Spirit. Take a picture of your family wearing your Deretchin shirts and post it to our Deretchin Facebook account. We miss you Dragons! #DeretchinFamily

Spotlight on Self-Discipline Videos

Just click on the buttons below to view teachers reading their Spotlight certificates!

Need internet services at your house?

Big picture

I can statements -- These are to help you know what the focus is for each day. They are based on the Texas curriculum required for each grade level. You do not need to do anything with the I can statement. The students will recognize these from the Teacher's Board.

Big picture

Each teacher will host an hour of office hours during the day to answer directly to any grade level questions that you may have regarding your child's assignments. During these times, you will receive a direct answer back if you email the teacher listed below. If you choose to email your child's teacher instead of the teacher in office hours, you will still receive a response within 24 hours. We hope this helps you get the answers faster from teachers as they are all working together to create these assignments.


Please be sure to list your child's name in the subject line of the email as well as their homeroom teacher.


Kinder

Martin - 10:00-11:00 mmartin@conroeisd.net

Stanley - 11:00-12:00 jgraves@conroeisd.net

Neuenschwander - 12:00-1:00 cneuenschwander@conroeisd.net

Michalak - 1:00-2:00 amichalak@conroeisd.net


First Grade Office Hours:

Meyer- 9:00-10:00 cmeyer@conroeisd.net

Ross- 10:00-11:00 lross@conroeisd.net

Beck- 11:00-12:00 lbeck@conroeisd.net

Koehl-12:00-1:00 ekoehl@conroeisd.net

Juneau-1:00-2:00 sjuneau@conroeisd.net

Stauffer- 2:00-3:00 lrisher@conroeisd.net


Second


9:00 - 10:00 Jill jwinters@conroeisd.net

10:00 - 11:00 Sally scaporale@conroeisd.net

11:00 - 12:00 Bailey brwagner@conroeisd.net

12:00 - 1:00 Amy awinters@conroeisd.net

1:00 - 2:00 Bacon lbacon@conroeisd.net


Third

Samantha Halbach, 9:00 - 10:00 shalbach@conroeisd.net

Davelyn Mills, 10:00 - 11:00 dmills@conroeisd.net

Clarissa Montgomery, 11:00 - 12:00 cgmontgomery@conroeisd.net

Shae Cleveland, 12:00 - 1:00 sscleveland@conroeisd.net

Kelly Benner, 1:00 - 2:00 kbenner@conroeisd.net

Nancy Rainbird, 2:00 - 3:00 nrainbird@conroeisd.net



Fourth

8:00- Andrea Mattingly amattingly@conroeisd.net

9:00- Hailey Duncan hduncan@conroeisd.net

10:00- Lori Falterman lfalterman@conroeisd.net

11:00- Kristin Garza kdgarza@conroeisd.net

12:00- Robyn White rrwhite@conroeisd.net

1:00- Ana Whaley awhaley@conroeisd.net


Fifth

Woodul - 8:00 mwoodul@conroeisd.net

Lindsey - 9:00 jlindsey@conroeisd.net

Gilmore - 10:00 cbgilmore@conroeisd.net

Woolson - 11:00 jwoolson@conroeisd.net

Renick - 12:00 mschatzrenick@conroeisd.net

Cheung - 1:00 acheung@conroeisd.net

Peduzzi - 2:00 rpeduzzi@conroeisd.net



Sixth

9:00-10:00 Lilly jalilly@conroeisd.net

10:00-11:00 Roz mroznovsky@conroeisd.net

11:00-12:00 Drilling mdrilling@conroeisd.net

12:00-1:00 Schoppe oschoppe@conroeisd.net

1:00-2:00 O’Donnell mnodonnell@conroeisd.net

2:00-3:00 Powell hpowell@conroeisd.net



Fine Arts/PE

8:00-9:00 Childs Choir/Music mchilds@conroeisd.net

9:00-10:00 Colschen Art ccolschen@conroeisd.net

10:00-11:00 Gibson Art diagibson@conroeisd.net

10:00-11:00 Shackelford Band/Music aeshackelford@conroeisd.net

11:00-12:00 Chernitsky PE mchernitsky@conroeisd.net

12:00-1:00 Parra PE tparra@conroeisd.net

1:00-2:00 Dillard Orchestra/Music smdillard@conroeisd.net

2:00-3:00 Shaw Band/Music kashaw@conroeisd.net

Video Conferencing Expectations

1. This is a classroom environment -- Please have kids sit up in an open space when on a call. Therefore, students should not be lying on their bed or in an enclosed space.

2. Conferences will be in small groups or whole class with the teacher. There will be no one on one conferences.

3. Dress code expectations are: Please dress appropriately for a classroom environment. Shirts with sleeves should be worn. No tank tops, No swimsuits, No tube tops, etc.

5. If there is inappropriate behavior from a child, the parent will be contacted.

6. All calls will be recorded.


Big picture

Please click on your child's grade level below and it will take you to this week's lesson plans.

Big picture

Here are some helpful links with tips from the World Health Organization and CDC. Please stay safe and respect social distancing to help flatten the curve. Look forward to seeing everyone soon and have a great week.



Tips for Health Parenting during COVID-19

https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public/healthy-parenting


Mythbusters from World Health Organization

https://www.who.int/emergencies/diseases/novel-coronavirus-2019/advice-for-public/myth-busters



Preventing the Spread of COVID-19

https://youtu.be/8c_UJwLq8PI



How and When to Wear a Medical Mask

https://youtu.be/M4olt47pr_o

Big picture

Pillar of the Month - RESILIENCE

Habit of the Week


Keep Trying!

What is Resilience?

Resilience is the ability to bounce back when you have every reason to shut down – but you fight on! Resilient people have both tapped and untapped reserves, enabling them to overcome and thrive as they face the setbacks, challenges, and fears of daily life.


I love the word THRIVE! It's not just about "getting through"...but looking for ways the problem helps us become a better version of ourselves.

A Word from Kid President

Resilience Video - Nike

Parent Article

Big picture

Please visit the link below for additional book resources.

https://www.smore.com/xytqw

iPhone or iPad scanner

Parents with an iPhone or iPad have a built in scanner through the 'Notes App." Open a new note, press the camera button, the option to scan a document will pop up. Once the document is scanned you can email it with less internet than a photo.