Davidson County, NC

Cool things to know about Davidson County, NC

The Davidson County life!

Davidson county is located in the Piedmont region of North Carolina. Bordering our county are the counties of Guilford, Randolph, Davie, Forsyth, Mongomery, Rowan, and Stanly. Davidson County was founded in the year 1822, and was named after Brigadier General William Lee Davidson. Lexington became Davidson's county seat in 1847.

Davidson County Government!

Our county manager is Robert Hyatt. Davidson County is part of the Piedmont Triad Council of Governments. We currently have 7 members on the Board of Commissioners! These members work on current problems that the county and the country are going through.

Fun things to do in Davidson County!

Lots of fun in Davidson

If you're here and we're having our Lexington Barbecue Festival, you have to stop by its a cant miss attraction in Davidson. If you have a friend and are up for some frightening and chilling stories, come to the Davidson Ghost walk.

LET'S LEARN ABOUT LEXINGTON NC- The County Seat for Davidson County!

The City of Lexington, NC has a Council-Manager form of government and is governed by an eight-member City Council consisting of two members elected at large and six elected by wards. The Council operates under the guidance of a popularly elected Mayor. The current mayor is Newell Clark. Council members are elected on a nonpartisan basis for staggered four-year terms; and the Mayor is elected on a nonpartisan basis for a two-year term. The Mayor may vote only in case of a tie among members of the City Council. The City Council is responsible for establishing policy,passing ordinances and creating a budget. The Council also appoints committees and legal counsel, as well as hiring the chief administrative officer, the City Manager. The City manager is J. Alan Carson and he is responsible for carrying out the policies, ordinances and goals of the City Council.