Chapter 29 Project

Leslie Farias

Consumer Bill of Rights

1. The Right to Safety- protection against products that are hazardous to life or health.

2. The Right to Be Informed- protection against fraudulent, deceitful, or grossly misleading practices and assurance of receiving facts necessary to make informed choices.

3. The Right to Choose- access to a variety of quality products and services offered at competitive prices.

4. The Right to Be Heard- assurance of representation of consumer interests in formulating government policy and of fair and prompt treatment in enforcement of laws.

5. The Right to Redress- assurance that buyers have ways to register their dissatisfaction and receive compensation for valid complaints.

6. The Right to Consumer Education- assurance that consumers have the necessary assistance to plan and use their resources to maximum potential.

Patient's Bill of Rights

1. Information Disclosure- patients have the right to receive accurate, easily understood information to make informed health care decisions.

2. Choice of providers- patients have the right to choose their own doctors and other health care providers.

3. Access to emergency services- patients have the right to access health care services how and where the need arises.

4. Treatment decisions- patients have the right to fully participate in all decisions related to their health care.

5. Respect and Nondiscrimination- consumers have the right to considerate, respectful care from all members of the health care system at all times.

6. Confidentiality- consumers have the right to have the confidentiality of their individually identifiable health care information protected.

Consumer Protection Laws

Since the 1930s, Congress has passed many laws to protect consumers from unsafe products. The following are some of the laws:

1. Food, drug, and cosmetic act- requires that foods be safe, pure, and wholesome; that drugs and medical devices be safe and effective; and that cosmetics be safe.

2. Meat inspection laws- requires poultry to be inspected for harmful contaminants.

3. Hazardous substances labeling act- requires that warning labels appear on all household products that are potentially dangerous to the consumer.

Federal Agencies

1. NIST( National Institute of Standards and Technology)- is an agency that develops and rewards standards of excellence in business.

2. FDA( Food and Drug Administration)- enforces laws and regulations preventing distribution of mislabeled foods, drugs, cosmetics, and medical devices.

3. SEC( Securities and Exchange Commission)- protects investors and maintains the integrity of the securities markets.