STANSW Young Scientist Awards 2018

Working Technologically Winners

2018 Winners announced for the Working Technologically category

The 2018 winners of the Working Technologically category of the Young Scientist Awards competition were announced at a special ceremony at the PTC (Professional Teachers Council) offices in Auburn on Saturday 1st September, 2018.

The ceremony followed a special science fair where student entrants had the opportunity to present their projects to an audience of judges, parents and teachers.

Special guests at the ceremony were Lachlan Bolton, 2017 Young Scientist Awards winner and ISEF 2018 finalist and Oliver Nicholls, 2017 Young Scientist Awards winner and ISEF 2018 Gordon E. Moore Prize winner.

Congratulations to all entrants and winners! Your innovation and ingenuity is truly inspiring.

K-2 Winners

Equal 1st

Tiffany Kouhis, Presbyterian Ladies College (PLC) Sydney

The Tiffy Zoom Clothes Line

Danielle Hanna, Sans Souci Public School

Baby-Safe Bookshelf

Hannah Chalmers, Presbyterian Ladies College (PLC) Sydney

Green Elephant - Reusable Shopping Bag Reminder App

Highly Commended

Jaiveer Vanmali, Glenhaven Public School

Saltwater Electricity

3-4 Winners

Equal 1st

Jasmine Civardi and Anikan Nguyen, St. Ambrose Catholic Primary School

Bee Box 1.0

Yannis Ho, Carlingford Public School

Natural Fog Destroyer

Harry Vohra, Newington College Wyvern House

Self Driving Transport

5-6 Winners

Equal 1st

Sienna-Marie Maroun, St. Ambrose Catholic Primary School

Senior Card

Anthony Gregoire, Newington College Wyvern House

The Aqua Elevator

James Stevens, Lachie Pettly, Oliver Hawkins, Know Preparatory Grammar School

Easy Sleep

Highly Commended

Chloe Sargiss and Chantel Sargiss, Presbyterian Ladies College (PLC) Sydney

Dynamic Paw

Jasmine Tran, St. Felix Catholic College

My Styling Closet

7-8 Winners

1st Place

Aniketh Chennapragada, Baulkam Hills High School

WAVI - Walking Assistant for the Visually Impaired

2nd Place

Gregory Burns, Redeemer Baptist School

Window Mate

3rd Place

Emma Gregory, Broughton Anglican College

Rotatable Solar Panels

Highly Commended

Josh Hayes, Edmund Rice College

Portable Solar Hot Water System

9-10 Winners

1st Place

Scarlet Gray, SCEGGS Darlinghurst

The Car Sensing Safety Light

2nd Place

Josafina Paddison and Olga Medvedieva, Queenwood Senior School

Specimens and UV

3rd Place

Olivia Arvanitis, Meriden School

Ammonia Monitoring System for Water Quality

Highly Commended

Anthony Guirguis and Gleb Kozlov, Redeemer Baptist School

Autonomous Fly

Grace Blomfield and Joanna Kontogiorgis, Meriden School

Designing and Developing More Protective Kneepads for Dancing

Rejisa Becirovic and Ayesha Dean, Amity College


11-12 Winners

1st Place

Callum Predavec, Mosman High School

Planetary Transfer Calculator

2nd Place

Lucy Lake, Barker College

BioMimicry Inspired Racing Oar

3rd Place

James Casey-Brown, Barker College

Surf Safe

Highly Commended

Ethan Yin, Northholm Grammar School

Hiker RFID Checkpoint System

Macinley Butson, The Illawarra Grammar School


Christian Borskjaer, Barker College

Greywater Recycling System

Majella Campbell, Barker College

YAC Systems, assisted communication

Anthea Kwan, Barker College

Biophilic open space building extension

Jacob Veleski, Lucas Heights Community School

House of Sustainability

Jacob Whicker, Northholm Grammar School

Light and Door Accessor