Swansboro Elementary Newsletter

January 2017

Happy New Year! We are looking forward to a very successful 2017!

  • Our canned good drive was a huge success. We collected over 2,800 canned good items for needy families. The following classes were the top collectors in each grade level:
  • K-Kollar
  • 1st- Spencer
  • 2nd- Riggs
  • 3rd- Sigafose
  • 4th- Paredes
  • 5th-Lawrence
  • First grade was the grade level that collected the most!
  • Second grade and Mrs. Williams did a wonderful job on their holiday performance. What a great show!
  • Thank you to Mrs. Goltz and all our PTO volunteers that made our Santa Shop a huge success.
  • Cookies with Santa was a big hit! Thank you to our Sunshine committee for sponsoring this event.
  • The Candy Man Lunch & Limo ride was lots of fun. Thank you Mrs. Dixon for coordinating this fun time!

As we say goodbye to 2016, I would like to take a minute to say thank you to all of you for making 2016 such a great year for me and my family. I realize that change is not always easy; however, you have all been very patient with me and have truly made me feel welcomed as part of this school community. I am looking forward to growing even closer as a school family in the upcoming year. The year 2017 is going to be a year to shine for SBES!

We collected over 2,800 canned good items for the HEM!!! We are so blessed to live in such a giving community, SBES Pirates were grateful for the opportunity to give back!


Tuesday, January 3 Frosted Night 2-6pm

Wednesday, January 4 PTO mtg 8:30 am in cafeteria & 6 pm in media center

Thursday, January 5 Reading Tips for Parents (K-2 Title I Workshop) with Mrs. Chadwick 12:00-1:00 pm or 5:30-6:30 pm in media center

Tuesday, January 10 Papa John’s Night

Monday, January 16 Martin Luther King Jr. Holiday-NO SCHOOL

Tuesday, January 17 Candy Edventure Night

Wednesday, January 18 Strategic Leadership Team mtg. 3:45 in media center

Friday, January 20 End of Grading Period

Monday, January 23 Teacher Workday- NO SCHOOL FOR STUDENTS

Tuesday, January 24 Teacher Workday- NO SCHOOL FOR STUDENTS

Wednesday, January 25 Talent Show Tryouts- 3:30-5:00pm multipurpose room

Thursday, January 26 Talent Show Tryouts-3:30-5:00 pm multipurpose room

Saturday, January 28 Let’s Get Moving PTO event

Tuesday, January 31 Report Cards go home

Tuesday, January 31 Pizza Hut Night

Big image
Big image